We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant Family Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jul 2018
Thank you. We are always glad when people say that the house feels like home, as that is what we intended. We spend time there too, so we have a good idea of what is needed, but are open to suggestions. There is always something to see, or look out for, on the loch which makes it easy to sit and watch if you don't feel like gadding around the countryside. Hope to see you back one day. Denise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
oldromant...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Glorious views from a fine old house”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The great attraction of Creag-an-Fhithich is the view from the front door across the sea loch to the hills beyond. Breakfast, lunch, teatime, evening drinks, supper, late-night scotch, there was never a moment when it was less than perfect. We did have astonishingly good weather, but the view would be magical in any conditions. There are also easy walks nearby. The house is spacious and comfortable, and if it's a bit retro that's half of its charm. It has the welcoming feel of a family home. The kitchen is well stocked and everything was easy to find. We also liked the 'secret garden' just beyond the main garden. For activities, we recommend David Ainsley's Sea Life Adventures boat trip out to see the seals, porpoises and whales (the latter if you're lucky)--he's well informed and full of interesting details. For drinking, we recommend the Oban single malt as being perfectly balanced (we tried several...)

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay on Loch Melfort after such a long journey from Singapore! The secret garden (also known as The Wilderness) is a work in progress that nature always wins! Glad everything was to your liking, including the local whisky! Thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npgriffit...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 17 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Wonderful and comfortable traditional stone house in a spectacular waterfront setting . Beautiful gardens with scenic barbecue area. Will be sure to return

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2018
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and managed a barbecue too! Look forward to your return visit sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare021
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 17 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We spent a wonderful week here a few years ago and promised ourselves we would go back. We managed it this year and weren’t disappointed. The cottage is in a beautiful location with stunning views across the Loch. The house is spacious and well appointed, with everything you could need, including lobster crackers and seafood picks - we recommend the fresh lobster and crab from the Seafood Hut in Oban. We had a couple of cool days so really appreciated the log burner in the sitting room. There is lovely garden to relax in but also plenty to see and do in the surrounding area. The owners are very helpful and both booking and checking in are easy. We very much hope to return.

Date of stay: May 2018
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2018
We are always especially delighted to welcome back returners! I hope you noticed some improvements in the garden and the house. The Oban Seafood Hut is a must-go-to for fish eaters. We are glad you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacation6...
1 review
“A lovely, very well equipped house”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful location on loch. Many historic and scenic places to visit in the area and a week was not sufficient to do and see all that we planned. House spacious and ideal for our extended family. Highlights included visit to Easdale Island, boat trip to Corrievrechan Whirlpool and exploring Kilmartin Glen. Oban and sea life centre good for a wet day. Only disappointment failure to climb Munro near Ben Cruachan because of very bad weather!

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2018
We are very pleased that you were able to use the house as a base for your very busy week. You should come again to bag your Munro on a better day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.