We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (906)
Filter reviews
906 results
Traveller rating
466
278
117
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
278
117
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baked eggs no lift metro hotel compact room grand room modern hotel great wee hotel power shower third floor ferry terminal central location smoked salmon breakfast room stayed for one night haggis comfortable bed car park
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 906 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Excellent. Good rooms. Well maintained. Breakfast great. Service first rate. Staff lovely and efficient. Would definitely recommend a short stay. Oban is lovely one problem no elevator. Stirs to rooms. Only 17 bedrooms. Still worth it. Very modern. Cheers JB

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ceramicist_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you very much for leaving such an excellent review of The Ranald Hotel. I will be sure to pass on the nice feedback to the staff. Unfortunately we don't advertise a lift on our website. We are advertised as a metro hotel and we unfortunately don't have any space to provide a lift.

We hope you will return to stay with us in the future. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The Ranald hotel in Oban is a small, no frills hotel. Clean and comfortable for a short stay. The reception, bar and breakfast/sitting area is altogether and can get very busy and jam packed but friendly staff.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve. The hotel is advertised as a Metro hotel and being small we need to make use of space this is why its altogether.
Its always good to read good comments about our staff.

I hope you would consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Nice hotel in central location. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are small and only a wardrobe for storage but ok for short stays. The bed is comfy and the shower is good with plenty hot water all day. There is no hotel parking so so you need to park on the street and pay at the meter or park for free at the council park near tescos. There is no draught beer/lager at the bar, only the usual overpriced bottled beer. There are no meals at the hotel so you need to venture out to eat but there are plenty options nearby. Would stay here again but only on a short break due to lack of space.

Stayed: March 2018
2  Thank neill y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I am delighted to see you enjoyed a friendly and comfortable stay here at The Ranald Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us soon. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

when we booked we reqested a room on the first floor as we are both in our 70s and there is no lift . However when we arrived we were allocated a room on the third floor which proved to be challenging and the girl said there was no note of our request and no other rooms available
This was disappointing as we have stayed here before and enjoyed it.
We would love to return but are put off by the thought of the climb to our room Also the room was very warm in spite of the heating being off

Room Tip: Request a lower room in writing if you have mobility / health problems
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I am sorry to see that you were disappointed to be on the 3rd floor. If there was no notes provided to us on the booking form and nothing available or available to change you to on a lower lever than all we can do is apologise to you for this. We don't advertise a lift on our website. We are a Metro hotel and being very compact there is no space for a lift.

I hope you would consider staying with us in the future and if you inform us directly we could arrange for either a lower lever or ground floor room. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

This was our third visit to the Ranald hotel,and was not disappointed ,my room (209) was immaculate,the breakfast was as good as any 5 star hotel I've stay in,also the staff could not have been more helpful. The hotel is located about 200m from the shops,bars and restaurants. The ferry terminal and railway station is also close by. The only downside was the view from my room (at the back of the hotel) was Very good,(a rock face).

Room Tip: Any room at the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank jydb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on trip advisor, I am delighted to see you have returned not once but twice to the hotel.

I do hope you can return in future, thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews