We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
US$162
View deal
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,388)
Filter reviews
1,388 results
Traveller rating
340
484
331
135
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
340
484
331
135
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view public car park buffet breakfast great weekend bit dated top floor large room lovely view ferry terminal dining room single room lovely room sea front harbour turret scotland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 1,388 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel upgraded us to a sea view suite free of charge it was much appreciated.The hotel exceeded our expectations.The suite was beautiful food was great all staff very friendly and helpful would reccomend this hotel highly.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Almost put off by negative review which made offensive remarks, bordering on racist, about staff! Thankfully we trusted our own judgement! 1st floor room had lovely view of the bay, and the raft race! Breakfast was hot, tasty and filling. All of the staff we encountered (of varied nationalities as is the case in Scotland's prettiest towns) in bar, restaurant and housekeeping, were helpful and friendly.
A special thank you goes to Yogesh, who was on reception when we dropped off our bag prior to formally checking in! Upon our return two hours later, he produced my husband's wallet, which he had taken care of, after it had been unwittingly left on a couch in reception. Its disappearance had caused a few frenzied calls home with our last hope being that it might be in the travel bag back at the hotel!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed just for one night in the Columba Hotel before catching a ferry. The staff were so helpful and caring! They gave us a great welcome and always greeted us during our comings and goings. Particularly the early morning member of staff on reception who was so courteous and interested in our plans.... even down to reassuring slightly anxious parents who were dropping a teenager off for their first solo travel experience. I was also impressed at the level of thought and care demonstrated by the equipment made available in each room.... iron/ ironing board/ an offer of a jug of fresh milk to have with tea and coffee making facilities. The morning breakfast was substantial and certainly set you up for the day! Location was great. Standards of cleanliness were very high. Overall I will definitely use this again as a stop over before catching the ferry.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 229nickip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

We originally booked paying a higher price until we were informed that the price had dropped. Well, this was incorrect. Our original booking was for rooms on the 2nd floor and we only found out that the cheaper rooms were on the 3rd floor, directly below the roof which meant we cooked in that room. We could only open the windows a tiny bit or we had company in the form of seagulls.

The room was of poor quality, the decorating looked as if it was done by a youngster, the bathroom tiles had mould, the bathroom lights were oxidised and some not working. The windows were filthy and the paintwork peeling. The lift stopped working twice and finally, my son's bed had a sheet that could only tuck under the mattress at the top, meaning by morning it was everywhere bar the bed. When we asked for a fan at reception (The Manageress) she told us that there was not one but the extra towels I had asked for would be sent to the room. The young girl who brought the towels had found a fan and we were saved from another night of heat

Room tip: Do not go higher than 2nd floor
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 503mairit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

My booking at another hotel was transferred to the Columba. The hotel is clearly Victorian and had been modernised. The old gated lift was a delightful anachronism. The breakfast coffee was instant :-(

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jill-Rhianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews