We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Don Muir Guest House
Ranked #25 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Don Muir Guest House and it was amazing! We had such a warm welcome and our room was beautiful, so cosy with a lovely big bed! It was in a perfect location with just a 10minute walk into the town centre. In the morning we were treated to a lovely home cooked breakfast and chatted to the owners who were so lovely! Would also recommend buying some of the soap which is homemade in the guest house! It's beautiful :) would definitely stay here again if traveling to Oban! Couldn't fault anything!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mhairideuchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Don Muir Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017

A short hike from main town, but B&B still accessible to public transport (buses & trains). Comfortable room and great breakfast. The couple was always friendly and helpful, making sure we are okay, really great service throughout our stay. They also provided good recommendations on food and where to visit. Highly recommend the stay there!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Weiting X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here while in Oban for a wedding. We drove up the steep hill and found Don Muir and put our car in the drive.
We were early, around 1.30pm and check in was not meant to be until 3pm but the owner Caroline greeted us and said our room was ready and we could unpack and get sorted out.
We have room 5 on the top floor. A lovely spacious room with a large toilet. It was spotless and fresh.
We walked down the hill into Oban and took some photos of the lovely view. We were in the town within 10 minutes.
Taxi back up was £4 which was fine with me as its a steep high hill.
Changed quickly and off to the wedding dance we went....
Next morning after a great sleep, no noise or street lights etc we went down to eat a lovely cooked breakfast which we got to order the night before. We chatted with Caroline and got to met her husband. They are a very friendly and down to earth couple.
I would highly recommend this b&b and hope to stay here the next time I am in Oban.


Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank montysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend could not fault it at all very friendly helpful couple. Great breakfast can have anything you want, anything you need they will provide. Stopped 2 nights leave tomorrow will be back definetly x

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for the lovely review. It was lovely to meet you both and glad you enjoyed your short stay with us. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Would love to see you again if you come back to Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Nice place to stay around Oban (10 min walk from the house). We spent a pleasant night in comfortable room and enjoyed a great breakfast the next morning. The hosts provide good advices on activities and restaurants around.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.9 km away
Glenview Guest House
Glenview Guest House
#49 of 94 in Oban
69 reviews
1.3 km away
Corran House
Corran House
#13 of 94 in Oban
473 reviews
1.4 km away
Roseneath Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
High Cliff Guest House
1.5 km away
Glenrigh Guest House
1.2 km away
Blair Villa
Blair Villa
#30 of 94 in Oban
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Muir Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Muir Guest House

Address: Crannaig-a-Mhinister | Pulpit Hill, Oban PA34 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: €46 - €108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Muir Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Muir Guest House is a family run bed and breakfast situated in a quiet residential area only a 3 minute walk from the Pulpit Hill viewpoint overlooking Oban Bay and surrounding islands. We offer a comfortable bed & breakfast accommodation.All rooms are equipped with TV, hairdryer, hospitality tray, heating and many more extras to make your stay most enjoyable.A choice of cooked or continental breakfast or our ever popular takeaway breakfast for those people catching an early ferry .We have parking for up to 3 cars and a large public free car park at the viewpoint for those with bigger vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Don Muir Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Muir Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing