We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking little B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Don Muir Guest House
Ranked #25 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here while in Oban for a wedding. We drove up the steep hill and found Don Muir and put our car in the drive.
We were early, around 1.30pm and check in was not meant to be until 3pm but the owner Caroline greeted us and said our room was ready and we could unpack and get sorted out.
We have room 5 on the top floor. A lovely spacious room with a large toilet. It was spotless and fresh.
We walked down the hill into Oban and took some photos of the lovely view. We were in the town within 10 minutes.
Taxi back up was £4 which was fine with me as its a steep high hill.
Changed quickly and off to the wedding dance we went....
Next morning after a great sleep, no noise or street lights etc we went down to eat a lovely cooked breakfast which we got to order the night before. We chatted with Caroline and got to met her husband. They are a very friendly and down to earth couple.
I would highly recommend this b&b and hope to stay here the next time I am in Oban.


Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank montysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Don Muir Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend could not fault it at all very friendly helpful couple. Great breakfast can have anything you want, anything you need they will provide. Stopped 2 nights leave tomorrow will be back definetly x

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for the lovely review. It was lovely to meet you both and glad you enjoyed your short stay with us. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Would love to see you again if you come back to Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Nice place to stay around Oban (10 min walk from the house). We spent a pleasant night in comfortable room and enjoyed a great breakfast the next morning. The hosts provide good advices on activities and restaurants around.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

You could not ask for a better place to stay. Caroline and family are gracious hosts. Accomadations are cosy and comfortable. The breakfast is delicious. Would recommend highly to any and all. Best place to stay in Oban.

Room Tip: Don't go anywhere else.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beckyphye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for the lovely review and for booking with us once again. The weather also helped make your trip enjoyable after flying all that way. Glad you enjoyed Oban and our guest house and we would welcome you back again anytime. Hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

I had made the booking and tried to contact the property but no one received my call as they had gone to sleep. Eventually when they did call me back at 11pm on the night of the booking and blamed me for a no-show. The owner had promised to refund but went back on their word. The ethics and the service are really poor. I would not have expected this from any place in Scotland but this place definitely stood out as a sore thumb. Would not recommend this place to anyone. Also Booking.com should review this place and how they treat their customers, I only booked here as it was recommended by Booking.com. A cheap way of charging money from desperate travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gantavya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Charged without allowing you to stay and blamed you for a no show .... you never even turned up !!! You made a non refundable booking at 9.50pm when our check in clearly states 9pm latest. When we finally got you to answer your phone at 11pm you were on your way to Fort William without even arriving here or informing us of your change of plan. Nobody promised you a refund as you booked non refundable ?? If you were desperate travellers why didn't you turn up ? Trying to blame a guest house for your change of plans and not turning up is very low in demeanor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.9 km away
Glenview Guest House
Glenview Guest House
#49 of 94 in Oban
69 reviews
1.3 km away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 94 in Oban
477 reviews
1.4 km away
Roseneath Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
High Cliff Guest House
1.5 km away
Glenrigh Guest House
1.2 km away
Blair Villa
Blair Villa
#30 of 94 in Oban
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Muir Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Muir Guest House

Address: Crannaig-a-Mhinister | Pulpit Hill, Oban PA34 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: €48 - €108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Muir Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Muir Guest House is a family run bed and breakfast situated in a quiet residential area only a 3 minute walk from the Pulpit Hill viewpoint overlooking Oban Bay and surrounding islands. We offer a comfortable bed & breakfast accommodation.All rooms are equipped with TV, hairdryer, hospitality tray, heating and many more extras to make your stay most enjoyable.A choice of cooked or continental breakfast or our ever popular takeaway breakfast for those people catching an early ferry .We have parking for up to 3 cars and a large public free car park at the viewpoint for those with bigger vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Don Muir Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Muir Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing