We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$169
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$256
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
96
36
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
36
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspulpit hilla lovely cooked breakfastguest houseminutes walkingnext morningroom was spotlessnice place to staywalk into townspent one nightcatch the ferryhighly recommend this b bwould stay here againgreat hostsstayed for nightsfeel very welcomelovely guesthousevisiting oban
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend could not fault it at all very friendly helpful couple. Great breakfast can have anything you want, anything you need they will provide. Stopped 2 nights leave tomorrow will be back definetly x

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for the lovely review. It was lovely to meet you both and glad you enjoyed your short stay with us. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Would love to see you again if you come back to Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Nice place to stay around Oban (10 min walk from the house). We spent a pleasant night in comfortable room and enjoyed a great breakfast the next morning. The hosts provide good advices on activities and restaurants around.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

You could not ask for a better place to stay. Caroline and family are gracious hosts. Accomadations are cosy and comfortable. The breakfast is delicious. Would recommend highly to any and all. Best place to stay in Oban.

Room Tip: Don't go anywhere else.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beckyphye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for the lovely review and for booking with us once again. The weather also helped make your trip enjoyable after flying all that way. Glad you enjoyed Oban and our guest house and we would welcome you back again anytime. Hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

I had made the booking and tried to contact the property but no one received my call as they had gone to sleep. Eventually when they did call me back at 11pm on the night of the booking and blamed me for a no-show. The owner had promised to refund but went back on their word. The ethics and the service are really poor. I would not have expected this from any place in Scotland but this place definitely stood out as a sore thumb. Would not recommend this place to anyone. Also Booking.com should review this place and how they treat their customers, I only booked here as it was recommended by Booking.com. A cheap way of charging money from desperate travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gantavya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Charged without allowing you to stay and blamed you for a no show .... you never even turned up !!! You made a non refundable booking at 9.50pm when our check in clearly states 9pm latest. When we finally got you to answer your phone at 11pm you were on your way to Fort William without even arriving here or informing us of your change of plan. Nobody promised you a refund as you booked non refundable ?? If you were desperate travellers why didn't you turn up ? Trying to blame a guest house for your change of plans and not turning up is very low in demeanor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

Oban is an interesting town and Don Muir is the place to stay. Caroline and her husband made me feel very welcome. My room was spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable. Had a fabulous breakfast the next morning. The guest house is on Pulpit Hill, a short walk from the centre of town. The viewpoint on Pulpit Hill and McCaig's Tower are well worth a visit.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Daryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed our house and hospitality. If you return to Oban you know where we are . Hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews