We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Don Muir Guest House
Ranked #24 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Spent one night,Great welcome.Very comfortable and good food Next time we are in Oban will book here.Would recommend it.Very peaceful being away from centre of town and were able to park outside .Handy for taking luggage in.

Room Tip: Good sized room with full sized bathroom
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Effie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thank you for the nice review. We would welcome you both back anytime glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Don Muir Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2016

Good place to stay in Oban. Quiet and within walking distance to downtown. And as a bonus it's on the street to Pulpit Rock with its lovely overview of Oban harbour - worth a look! The upstairs room we were given was clean and good. The bed slept well, and the only negative thing was that it was a bit stuffy as the weather was warm at the time. The duvet was a bit too warm to sleep under. There was also no way to open windows on both sides of the room to let air go through. We had our own washroom with tub and shower just outside the room - also very clean and functional. I needed to get up to use the facilities at night, so that wasn't the handiest. The owners were friendly and helpful. They directed us to some great eating establishments in town, near the harbour. The breakfast following morning was good, lots of choice. Parking was a bit of a business, but we managed OK. I would certainly stay here again if I was visiting Oban, no problem. And I would recommend it to friends as a good place to stay on the lovely west coast of Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2016

Thank you for the review. The window opens sideways in the room to create a through draft if needed all you need to do is push the button in and turn the handle. Don't understand why you had to use facilities outside the room late at night when you have your own toilet and sink in your room ? If you had a problem with anything you should have just asked. Thank you again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

I stayed at this B&B for 1 night with my friends. We had a great time, the rooms are really clean and comfortable. We were greeted by the owners who were very friendly and reserved the parking for us. The rooms and bathrooms are kept spotless and are very cosy, you get all you need.

We were very impressed and will certainly go back there should we go back to Oban.

thank you again for a nice stay :)

Serena &friends

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frikketz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2016

We are glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us here at Don Muir. Hope the rest of your holiday was as enjoyable. We would love to see you all should you come back to Oban. Thank you for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Most hospitable owners. Good accommodation and excellent breakfast.
On arrival we were presented with a tray of tea. Subsequently, the hostess, was happy to make some porridge to satisfy my dietary proble,
The parking area chould be difficult for a large car.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we could assist you with your dietary problems. Hope the rest of your holiday was as good. We do offer the viewpoint for parking with larger cars as the drive is an added bonus to those who manage to get on it. Once again thank you and it was a pleasure to meet you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We´ve staid in this B&B for 1 night. The room was nice and clean and the bed was great. We had a very good nights rest. The house is a bit outside of the center. Make sure that you either get the coordinates or get the address exactly as I don´t think the houses have a street number. The breakfast was very nice too and the owners very nice also.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Thank you for giving us a nice review. If you take the directions from whichever booking agent you have booked on you can't get lost. The house is 0.6 of a mile out of Oban and is 10 minutes walk as it says on the information. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.9 km away
Glenview Guest House
Glenview Guest House
#49 of 94 in Oban
69 reviews
1.3 km away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 94 in Oban
475 reviews
1.4 km away
Roseneath Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
High Cliff Guest House
1.5 km away
Glenrigh Guest House
1.2 km away
Blair Villa
Blair Villa
#30 of 94 in Oban
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Muir Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Muir Guest House

Address: Crannaig-a-Mhinister | Pulpit Hill, Oban PA34 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: €47 - €107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Muir Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Muir Guest House is a family run bed and breakfast situated in a quiet residential area only a 3 minute walk from the Pulpit Hill viewpoint overlooking Oban Bay and surrounding islands. We offer a comfortable bed & breakfast accommodation.All rooms are equipped with TV, hairdryer, hospitality tray, heating and many more extras to make your stay most enjoyable.A choice of cooked or continental breakfast or our ever popular takeaway breakfast for those people catching an early ferry .We have parking for up to 3 cars and a large public free car park at the viewpoint for those with bigger vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Don Muir Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Muir Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing