We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“warm and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

just back after two nights and had a great time. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the rooms are tidy and cosy. We had a room over looking the harbour and although the weather was not the best, it was great to look out and see it from a cosy warm room. The food is lovely from breakfast to dinner. Would defo recommend and will defo be back. Thanks and see you soon. Ian and Liz

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian-Ross6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    76
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
300
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Booked one night for my husband's 'surprise' 60th birthday and enjoyed our stay soo much we booked in for another night. Lovely comfortable room overlooking Oban Bay with tea/coffee facilities and a bowl of fruit. In the bathroom very nice Molton Brown items. Staff were quietly attentive and very helpful. Both nights had dinner in their lovely Dining Room and what fantastic food - can highly recomend the Orkney Cheddar Cheese and Butternut squash souffle as a starter - but all the food was of the same high quality and Breakfast did not disappoint either. Pre dinner drinks in the Bar were served with canapes, a really nice touch and with drinks during the afternoon we were asked if we would like some crisps and nuts. We go to Oban for reason or another quite a lot and the Manor House is top our list of places to stay.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely with a view out on Oban Bay and great to watch all the sailing activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjh7mcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

this was our 4th stay at the manor house in 5 years. the staff, rooms & food have always & still are wonderful. it is in walking distance for town centre & ferries. if you need to chill out the manor house is the perfect location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billy1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We have just arrived home from a great three night new year stay at the manor house. We have dined in their restaurant several times before and stayed once. The manor house is in a quiet location with great seaviews but is only a 5 minute walk into Oban. There is ample private parking.

We were given a warm welcome and shown to our 1st floor garden view double room. The room was very clean and decorated in keeping with the age of the hotel. As well as the usual comfy bed with 4 pillows, two cushions, blankets [instead of a quilt], great hairdrier, two small chairs, tea, coffee, hot chocolate making facilities and clock there was also a bowl of fruit, bottled water, Scottish biscuits and chocolates which was replenished every day, a nice touch.

The spotless bathroom was long and narrow with the longest bath I've ever seen. There was also an over the bath shower. Plenty of white fluffy towels on the heated towel rail. The bathroom also had lovely Molton Brown toiletries and white fluffy bathrobes, again a nice touch.

There is a small quiet lounge, a larger sitting room with a lovely working fireplace, a bowl of chocolates and a guest laptop. There is also a comfortable well stocked bar. All public rooms and bedrooms in the Manor house have free wii fi reception.

The dining room has been beautifully restored and includes a 19th century stove. The five course dinner finished off with coffee and petit fours is not to be missed. The food is freshly prepared using local produce and beautifully presented. There is a good choice of wine, which can be bought by either the glass or bottle. Coffee and petit fours can be taken in the sitting room.

Breakfast ranges from fruit, yoghurt, cereal, porridge, smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, French toast to a full Scottish all with plenty of hot toast. All of which are freshly prepared to order. The orange juice is freshly squeezed.

Lunch is available between 12md and 2pm every day.

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The waiters were very attentive in the dinning room. We never had to ask for more water or fill up our wine glasses, it just happened quietly and efficiently. I would just like to thank all the staff for all the attention and service they gave everyone.

The only negative that I can think of is the chairs and couches in the sitting room are low therefore making them hard to get out of.

We would not think of staying anywhere else in Oban now.

Room Tip: All rooms are quirky decorated. Seaview rooms have lovely views over Oban Bay. Binoculars are suppli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerbilhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

In September we spent a three-night break at the Manor House
Hotel. Although the weather was not at it's best, our welcome was warm and friendly. We had a very well appointed room with a sea view - binoculars were provided - fresh fruit and chocolates were provided each day, we had soft towelling bath robes, and a variety of drinks to use at our leisure. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The Dinner menus were changed each day, with an excellent variety of choice. The food was of an extremely high standard and, as you might expect, the restaurant was also frequented by non-staying guests. The wine list was extensive and contained moderately priced good wines of a reasonable vintage, although there were more expensive wines as well. The Breakfast catered for all tastes - from the "Full Scottish" to Local Kippers and much, much more. All excellent and served by attentive staff.There were 2 lounges - tastefully and attractively furnished - as were the Restaurant and Bar. We have stayed in many hotels in many countries over the years, and this Hotel ranks with the best of them. Thoroughly recommended, and if we ever find ourselves north of Glasgow again, we will do our utmost to return here.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view, there is so much to see from the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ed-eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
1.0 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.7 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.9 km away
Bay Great Western Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: Gallanach Road, Oban PA34 4LS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House was built in 1780 as the Duke of Argyll's Oban estate. Great consideration has been given to preserve the elegance, charm and atmosphere of its past. There are eleven tastefully decorated bedrooms each with en-suite bathroom. Informal lunches are served in the Bar and lovely Drawing Room which, like the beautifully restored Dining Room, have magnificent views over Oban Bay, the adjacent islands,the mountains of Morvern and Isle of Mull. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing