We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A really great holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Douglas Lodge

Front of the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the cottage
Side view of the cottage Kitchen door and patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Front of the cottage
Side view of the cottage
Kitchen door and patio
Living room with log fire
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Ensuite master bedroom
Staircase master bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Dinning room
Dinning room
Kitchen
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Robert A
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really great holiday”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The lodge the location are awesome. The discount for the adventure park is great for groups and couple's. The local people are really friendly and helpful. I will definitely be coming back worth every penny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked the lodge very much plus the location is spectacular.
Liked least: weather could have been better
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2015
Thank you for the positive review and we are very happy that you enjoyed the lodge and Argyll Adventure so much. We look forward to welcoming you back. John & Dilla
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet D
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

I really didn't know what to expect when I booked Douglas Lodge but I needn't have worried. The accommodation is first class and set in a wonderful location with the shore of the loch only a short walk away. There is even a small river running through the back garden but you'd have to ensure that any children are closely supervised. The lodge is very well equipped having everything you might need and the lovely log burner is a nice touch. We even saw a family of deer trotting down the track early one morning. We will definitely be back and I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2015
Thank you for the positive review and we are very happy that you enjoyed the lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back. John & Dilla
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haggisann...
Swanley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I could live there!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Arrived after a long journey to find this cottage nestling next to a river. Loved the sound of the running water. Douglas Lodge had everything you could wish for to make to make your stay very comfortable. My only concern was the fact that the garden was not secure for dogs and we were unable to allow our dog to wander alone in the garden. However there were plenty of places to walk a dog. Having said that it will not stop us from returning another year. Wonderful holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Showers. Excellent water pressure
Liked least: Unsecured garden
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2015
Thank you for the positive review and we are very happy that you enjoyed the lodge and the area so much including the hours of off-road walking available from the front door. We look forward to welcoming you back. John & Dilla
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Had a brilliant stay for a long weekend.
The lodge is brilliant, with every comfort you could ask for. There's plenty to do and see with Argyll Adventure within easy walking distance and incredibly picturesque views just a stones throw away. Also it's conveniently close to Inveraray, only five or so minutes drive.
I'd recommend Douglas Lodge to anyone and will definitely be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thank you for the positive review and we are very happy that you enjoyed the lodge and the area so much. We look forward to welcoming you back. John & Dilla
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlikiMorr...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very relaxing stay”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We had a lovely weekend break in Douglas Lodge. The cottage is very comfortable, spacious, and beautifully furnished, and is perfectly situated a few minutes drive from Inveraray, and a short walk away from Argyll Adventure. The surrounding area is gorgeous too, perfect for walking around absorbing the scenery. I would highly recommend Douglas Lodge for families, groups of friends, or anyone wanting an escape to the countryside. I'm sure we will visit again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2013
Thanks for the positive review and we look forward to seeing you all in 2014.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$172
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing