We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paintball - What a great time we had”
Review of Argyll Adventure

Argyll Adventure
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: So much to do with 9 fantastic activities on offer, Horse Riding, Children’s Pony Rides, Horse Riding Instruction / Lessons, Paintballing, Paintball Range, Laser Storm, Crossbow Range, Climbing Walls, Bungee Trampolines as well as a Café and picnic areas. Our activities are suitable for children and adults, corporate groups or parties. You can mix and match your activities and spend a couple of hours or the whole day with us. All of our activities are supervised by our friendly staff, with the emphasis on fun, challenge and safety. We are 3 miles south of Inveraray on the A83 and well sign posted. Visit our website for full details and restrictions.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paintball - What a great time we had”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

7 of us guys visited for Paintballing. Had a fantastic time, largely thanks to the staff. There's always the possibility of rain, so I recommend waterproofs, and a thick sweatshirt to dampen down the impact from the pellets would be smart. Its real easy to find the place. We took along refreshments in our rucksacks which we nibbled at the break. Its a clean, friendly and happy environment. With all the activities they cater for, you could easily fill a full weekend and enjoy every bit, but like everything worth having... it costs money, but for us, it was well worth it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    34
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent choice of activities with great staff”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

A group of 6 (adult) friends visited Argyll Adventure this August while on holiday in the area. We all went pony trekking along the coast, did some paintball target shooting, crossbow target shooting and our lighter member had a go on the bungee trampoline.

Horses were chosen for us based on our weight and riding experience (a big range of both!), and the 1 hour ride along the coast was spectacular. Being a non rider, I still felt safe and after a while even managed to stop my massive horse (Lewis) from veering off to eat everything in sight!
The terrain looked great for 'proper' paintballing, but we weren't up for crawling around playing commando, so we had a go on the paintball target range instead which was fun.
The crossbow shooting was much more difficult than it looked, but very enjoyable.
Whilst aimed at kids (8 stone weight limit if I remember correctly), one of our group was light enough to have a go on the bungee trampoline. It looked really good fun, and there was lots of squealling, so I think that was a thumbs up :)
The staff were all very friendly yet professional. The facilities were good, and everywhere was clean and well maintained. All the horses looked in excellent condition and very well cared for.
Highly recommended, something to do for everyone!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank JonLeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great fun for 1st time pony trekkers!”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Myself and my 8 year old daughter visited Argyll Adventure on our trip to Scotland recently and booked a 1 hour pony trek. I found the guides very helpful and safety concious, my daughter was led by the lead guide who kept us entertained on our trek along the beautiful loch Fyne, we even took the ponies in for a paddle. The horses were beautifully behaved and we also had the added company of one of the farm dogs who trotted along with us.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Jazz0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The kids are still talking about it!”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

It's a tall order to find somewhere which will appeal to kids from as young as 3 right up to 12 but Argyll Adventure fits the bill! The setting is beautiful and the facilities are spotless. The staff were lovely - really knowledgeable and delightful with the children, offering just the right amount of support and encouraging independence but never compromising safety. Thank you for such a memorable visit. We can't wait to come back!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC PLACE, HIGHLIGHT OF THEIR WEEKEND”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My children have been attending the Saturday morning club here for sometime now. They have the chance to learn about the care of the ponies as well as participating in ride outs and lessons. The Grounds and the equipment are all well maintained and the ponies and horses all healthy, however, the real gem here is the staff.
Right from the outset they have been brilliant. They are attentive and patience and always willing to assist. As a parent I am incredibly happy to leave my children in their care for a couple of hours. As often is the case with kids trying something new, they lack confidence. this has been easily overcome with the encouragement of the all team there. Keep up the good work!!!!!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank royalburghcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Argyll Adventure also viewed

 
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Argyll Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing