We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

The Carlton Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

The room was the cheapest I could get in Montrose at the time I booked so very reasonably priced. Nice old building with big rooms and windows. Nice view from our room. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Decor is a bit dated but rooms are comfortable. Was a bit cold at night. Probably because the rooms are big. Town centre location was handy for going out but did get a bit noisy because it was Saturday night. Staff are lovely. Very child friendly too.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank jojopet79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2016

I endorse what RFAMedic1 says. My wife and I had an excellent week-end in the Carlton Hotel. Graeme and Natalie were delightful hosts. Breakfast was all we wanted; the room was warm, comfortable and cosy (as was the rest of the hotel). Our room was ready, although we were early, and there was no problem at all about us leaving our cases 'til nearer the time for our train, so that we did not have to drag them with us as we explored more of the town. It was a magic stay, enhanced by the owners of the Carlton Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dubhag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Great hotel right in the centre of town and handy for everything, just the place to stay for Petrofac courses. The owners Graeme and Natalie cant do enough for you all you have to do is ask.
The room may be basic but it was clean quiet and comfortable with all the usual amenities. Certainly be back for the next course

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RFAMedic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and cannot find any faults whatsoever, Graham the owner is a top bloke and a very conscientious person he is very helpful and a down to earth hard working individual, he even offered to take me to my course venue early in the morning which I found far outwith What What he needed to do, just a really good person, the breakfast was exceptional and the room and service great, i cannot speak highly enough of the whole stay at the Carlton Hotel, i have stayed at hundreds of hotels in Aberdeen over the years and my company and myself have paid well over what the Carlton charges and received much less than this place gives as the norm, i will request that i am booked here anytime i am in Montrose and also any of my colleagues, it's just a pity Graham couldn't move his hotel to Aberdeen where he could earn what he deserves and show some of the top hotels how to do it right instead of them ripping customers off because they can, it's such a shame that Aberdeen because of its location can manipulate and profit by the oil companies and genuine people like Graham struggle to survive and give far superior service to his customers. Thanks Graham thoroughly enjoyed my stay with you.
Tony.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Suton81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

we booked a meal at night for 12 people as a birthday celbration. we booked for 8pm and we had to wait an incredibly long time for our meal When food did coem it was well cookedtasty and plenty off it. however it took nearly 2 hours for our totak party to get served which was unacceptable. good food spoiled by terrible service.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Abbynumero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
0.4 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
326 reviews
0.4 km away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
306 reviews
0.1 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 5 in Montrose
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
585 reviews
0.3 km away
Chapel House B&B
Chapel House B&B
#13 of 18 in Montrose
28 reviews
1.1 km away
Guest House Grey Harlings
Guest House Grey Harlings
#3 of 18 in Montrose
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 139 High Street, Montrose DD10 8QN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Montrose
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Price Range: €81 - €84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Montrose
The Carlton Hotel Montrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing