We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
247
74
15
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
74
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room union street daily maid service honesty bar top floor home from home washing machine place to stay car park hotel room continental breakfast is fully equipped kitchen excellent accommodation self catering flights of stairs one bedroom apartment dvd player
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

First off, I would like to comment on the staff. Everyone was warm friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. Great water pressure, comfortable bed. The washer and dryer were a godsend. Would definitely recommend

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank flybynighttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkeneHouse, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards
Susan Aitken
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

The staff was excellent. Very friendly, and they even have someone come to your car and help carry bags to your room. It is so charming inside. The lobby is fantastic. The details are great, the rooms/apartments are spacious and clean. The doors on every room were odd though. The kitchen, and living area. But no big deal. Breakfast downstairs was very good. I really wish we could have stayed more than one night. But we were just passing through. Parking was easy in the secure lot, lots of spaces. The cost of the hotel for what you get is amazing. I can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs if you get a room up high.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkeneHouse, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It’s always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and would like to share their experience with others. The staff will be delighted to see your review.

Customer feedback on Trip Advisor is very valuable for both accommodation providers and travellers and I am grateful that you have taken the time to post this review.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Susan Aitken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here on Sat (4th of Aug) with family and booked two apartments, the staff were friendly and efficient on check in and directed us to the ‘secure’ car park at the back of the apartments. We parked our car to the far left of the car park, facing the 6ft wall and left for the day/evening.

When we moved our car on Sunday morning, we found a large, empty Prosecco bottle lying beside our car and a huge dent in the bonnet. As there was a walkway on the other side of the wall, we believe someone threw the bottle over the wall which hit our car at some point on Saturday evening, on investigation of the path we noticed lots of empty glass bottles and broken glass which was not there there the day prior. We informed reception and they offered us the CCTV footage for the police but unfortunately it only shows the tops of people’s heads, we are now left with damage worth hundreds of pounds to our car. We realise that our car was left at our own risk but we wanted to warn people to be careful when parking in the car park as we would hate for this to happen to anyone else in the future.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank MKing84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkeneHouse, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Holburn and for taking the time to post a review.

Please accept our sincere apologies again for the damage to your car, our car park is normally very secure and nothing like this has happened previously, the area surrounding the car park is a public walkway and does not belong to the hotel. We have since taken extra steps to do more security checks so that we can pick up any bottles etc that is lying around.

I was happy to read that our staff were friendly and efficient, I shall pass on your comments to the front of house team.

Kind regards
Susan Aitken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Stayed at Skene House Holborn over a weekend in July. Very impressed with the facility overall. Private, secure car park at the rear of the property gave excellent access to the accommodation and reception although call at front door first in Union Grove to get directions to this "secret" car park.
Reception staff very helpful and polite. Showed us the lounge and bar area on the ground floor. Bar is self service and only available to residents. Took us to the apartment and showed us around - very impressed with the space and the size of the large, airy rooms. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with picture windows to the front onto Union Street and onto the car park at the rear. Despite the city centre location, it was quiet inside with double and secondary glazed windows blocking out all street noise. Also had a large lounge and a sizeable kitchen/dining area. Everything was clean and well finished.
Location was perfect for all town centre activities with a Tesco express and a Sainsbury within easy walking distance (3 minutes). Likewise bars and restaurants all handy or only a short taxi/bus ride away. Overall had a very pleasant stay which represented excellent value for money given the fact that 4 adults in 2 separate hotel rooms would have been much more expensive. Thoroughly recommend Skene House. Will return next time we visit the Granite City.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkeneHouse, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Your comments are very much appreciated, as they are one of the best tools we have for maintaining our high standards of guest comfort and satisfaction. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again to Skene House Holburn in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Susan Aitken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Situated centrally but still very quite inside the rooms. Starbucks is just opposite. Small shops (tesco, sainsbury) just around the corner in case you need something.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkeneHouse, Manager at Skene House Holburn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Skene House Holburn. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. All feedback is very important to us as it helps us to improve our customer service and the facilities that we provide to our guests. Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Susan Aitken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews