We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
322
140
72
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
140
72
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apple tv grand room boutique hotel nespresso coffee machine afternoon tea fillet steak main restaurant wedding venue bar menu beautiful hotel function room breakfast service mini bar waiting staff nice room an overnight stay wedding reception
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a fantastic celebratory family meal last weekend at the Chester Hotel. It was very busy in the bar on arrival but a waiter found us a table beside the piano and we sat comfortably there sipping our champagne and canapés until our table was ready at 8pm. The food was exceptional and the service was prompt and friendly. Would definitely recommend this restaurant for a meal.

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank SarahJaneAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippaN54, Operations Manager at The Chester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi SarahJaneAberdeen,

Thank you for the review and I am delighted that your celebratory family meal at the hotel last weekend was a success. I am pleased that the staff were so accommodating of your party during such a busy time.

We also appreciate your recommendation to other guests considering the Chester hotel for their own special occasion.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very comfortable king sized bed, very quiet and restful room location (room 20). Room is sized a little small for the large comfortable bed, but, if you don’t mind that minor aspect, the room is fine.

Room Tip: Room 20 for peace and quiet, with a comfortable bed.
Stayed: November 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ChrisH3312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippaN54, Operations Manager at The Chester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi ChrisH3312,

I am pleased to read that you found the bed to be comfortable and room quiet during your stay. Please note we do have different room types available, grand, club and suites should you be looking for a little more room during your next stay.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very disappointed with the service. This is our favourite place to go and we were sadly let down on Friday. Our sourdough bread arrived which looked as though it had been cut with a hatchet. We were asked did we require butter even though it’s supposed to come with butter. Our mains then turned up 40 mins later. My main was cold and I complained but the server didn’t understand, it was only when another member of staff intervened and it was replaced very promptly. We ordered deserts. One arrived, 10 mins passed and we were still waiting for one more. We enquired where this was and we got “oh I forgot. We were just stunned.

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippaN54, Operations Manager at The Chester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Kelly T,

An extremely disappointing review for us all. I will be discussing with both the kitchen and bar teams.

If you would like to discuss further with us direct, please do not hesitate to contact myself or Gary Middleton.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very difficult to get parked on arrival as rear car park is out of service. Room was quite cold on arrival. Bathroom heat seems to be by towel rail only. Nice room fittings and comfortable bed and very quiet at night. Little natural light in room 5. Friendly staff

Room Tip: Room 5 has little natural light.
Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippaN54, Operations Manager at The Chester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Iain M,

We are currently undergoing some refurbishment work at the hotel and as such the rear car park is in use for deliveries and contractors only. Please be aware that we do have additional parking allocated just next door that is for hotel guests and signposted accordingly.

We have found the constant changing temperature fairly difficult to regulate however we do find the heaters to be extremely effective so I hope this was easily rectified for you.

I hope you will consider using the hotel again,

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Located in a very nice area of Aberdeen. Staff were very friendly and welcoming - will serve you at the bar until as late as you want. Rooms modern and very comfortable. Nice full Scottish breakfast too.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 39simonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippaN54, Operations Manager at The Chester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi SImon W,

A great review of your recent stay - thank you. The staff are indeed our best asset.

We are happy to accommodate in house guests in the residents lounge after licensed hours and I am glad that this was suitable for you.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews