We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$171
Hotels.comUS$171
PricelineUS$170
TravelocityUS$171
Trip.comUS$169
Vio.comUS$169
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,531)
Filter reviews
1,532 results
Traveller rating
1,375
130
20
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,375
130
20
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking beautiful hotel afternoon tea first class within the walls walled city boutique hotel top class every member of staff lovely touch would highly recommend this hotel from start to finish couldn't do enough staff were so friendly walking tour great night second to none
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,532 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2022 via mobile

Stayed in the beautiful bishops gate greeted by lovely Robyn, personally escorted to room, gave us loads of recommendations for our walking tours
Dinner was sensational, breakfast the same micheal on reception was a joy. Room was glorious, facilities the same.
Really love to go back, this hotel is so special

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank K3957MWtinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JP McCafferty, General Manager at Bishop's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Tina,

Congratulations on your anniversary :)

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bishop's Gate.
We will be sure to pass on your feedback to Robyn, Micheál and the entire team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
JP.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2022

My partner and I stayed here last night for one night. Firstly, all the staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was very comfortable and clean, and finally, the food was superb, both in quality and quantity. We really enjoyed our stay and will come back again in due course. We would highly recommend this hotel to others.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JP McCafferty, General Manager at Bishop's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear David c,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It is wonderful to read that you had such a great experience at Bishop's Gate, we will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards
JP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2022 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights over a weekend while doing a tour of various spots in Ireland

Could not fault it.. situated inside the famed walls

Very comfortable room … immaculately presented .. WiFi ran without any problems ( was able to stream live football match )

Valet parking at an extra cost but well worth it

Staff were uniformly terrific… from Lauren at check in to Patrick at dinner and Robyn at reception (with hints for places to visit) and many others whose names escape me

Breakfast was included in our rate and had a great range of continental and cooked options

Had dinner on two nights in the restaurant… first night was booked mainly on the basis that the weather was horrible and we didn’t fancy getting soaked walking elsewhere .. next night was booked because the food was absolutely excellent and very reasonably priced

Would recommend (and return!!) without hesitation

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JP McCafferty, General Manager at Bishop's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jim,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

On behalf of everyone at Bishop's Gate, thank you for your kind comments which we will share with the entire team.

I hope it's not too long before we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards
JP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2022

We drove from Ballycastle to Derry for our second day in Northern Ireland. I managed to miss the entrance to the hotel on my first pass, having entered the walled city through, of course, the Bishop's Gate. Easily rectified, but you'll definitely want to use the valet parking.

This brings me to one of the nicest features of the hotel - the staff. Our check-in was effortless thanks to Kaysi and Robyn, and it turns out that the gentleman who put our luggage on a trolley and to our room was the same man who parked our car. He also doubles as a room engineer (for a window fitting that wouldn't let the window close) and is also a concierge. His name is Gary, and he's clearly the MVP on a hotel staff that has a number of stars. I think he works there about 20 hours a day.

Our room was spacious and very comfortable, including the heated towel rack in the bathroom that my wife appreciated. Note: if you have the towel rack turned on, it warms the bathroom (and your room, if the bathroom door is open) quite a bit.

We had a late lunch in the smaller of the two dining areas, and it was great. I had fish and chips and my wife had a salad. We had a reservation for dinner that night at the Walled City Brewery, but ate in the main dining room for breakfast the next morning - it was delicious as well. Cindy, the dining room manager, was constantly in circulation, ensuring everything was just right.

Check-out was equally easy, with our friend Gary the bellman/concierge/room engineer/valet parker handling everything except our account.

This is a lovely gem of a hotel in the heart of Derry. We very much enjoyed our stay and recommend it highly.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pointman_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JP McCafferty, General Manager at Bishop's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Pointman_FL,

Thank you for your kind review.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and visit to the City.

Thank you for mentioning the quality of our accommodation and the convenience of valet parking, but it is wonderful to read that so many of our team made the highlight of your trip.
I will be sure to mention your feedback to Cindy, Robyn, Kaysi, the entire team & Gary they will be delighted.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Thanks,
JP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2022

Stayed for one night only. Service was amazing with very helpful staff and friendly service from everyone. Bar and restaurant was excellent. Room was well appointed and clean. I highly recommend a stay here if you are in Derry.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozmadmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JP McCafferty, General Manager at Bishop's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2022

Dear ozmadmax,

Thank you for your kind review, it was wonderful to welcome you to our City and Bishop's Gate Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our entire team.

Thanks,
JP.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews