We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time here”
Review of Ollies

Ollies
Ranked #22 of 222 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

Lovely restaurant walking during the day but evenings book excellent food service is good nice relaxed atmosphere definately the spot in a night out

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 316 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

I had the chicken risotto which was tasty but not too appetising to look at, all rather grey. My friend had mediocre burger. But service was reasonable, food was incredibly fast and the place an a nice overall atmosphere. Quite quiet and the type of place that you could come anytime of day for casual eating or for a fancy night of dining.

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank sharongcanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Jollies is quite a nice little restaurant right in Ebrington square there's a great Buzz about the place and you can see the chefs working the service was excellent and being able to bring your own wine saves a lot on the bill.my sister forgot hers and the manager got a member of staff to go to the off license which was brilliant the food itself is bit like the Bentley menu but follies does serve some great fish dishes like clams and turbot. A pleasant experience but some specials like 2 courses for whatever would be welcome

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank palom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

go to Ollies regularly for breakfast now. lovely relaxed atmosphere, friendly and attentive staff. delicious food and nice menu to choose from.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank deirdresheedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

We booked a table here for the mother In laws birthday which meant there was 6 adults an two children which we did state on booking.

When we arrived at the restaurant myself my partner an our child we were greeted by a very stressed looking waiter which just looked at us as if to say what do you want? so I said we have a booking but then spotted one of our party already sat down so we made our way to the table we hadn't even sat down or taken off our coats when the waiter lent over the railings an informed us we had to be out for half 8 to which I replied we just got here this was at 20 to 7 our table was booked half 6 which some of are party were on time for !

Then because the rest of our party weren't there we decided to go ahead an order starters to speed things up as they were clearly in a hurry to get us out ! So we called the waitress with the white top on only way to describe her as none of the staff had name badges on which is also frustrating as there was only one helpful member the whole time an don't know her name to praise her as she could give the rest of them a lesson in service !

But the waitress we did order the starters off seemed surprised as to why we were ordering so quickly an informed us they only take 5 mins so she clearly hasn't spoken with the first waiter who couldn't get us to order quick enough !

We then order our child's food as well as we wanted the child to eat first! Which again the waitress didn't seem to get an also a smile wouldn't have gone a miss !

The rest of our party arrived an Also the second child to which none of the staff offered an other high chair we had to flag them down an ask which seemed to be the only way to get service! I understand sat nights can be busy in any restaurant and some can be under staffed but the staff in general didn't seem to know what each other were doing!

Orders were taken and when we asked about the kids menu we were sharply informed it's on the back! But it was that tiny in the bottom corner you wouldn't of seen it. No water was offered for the table so we had to ask after an other delay an flagging down!

Food came an waitress sat the first hot plate down right in front of our child after informing us the plate was hot! Not the best place to put it!! They also didn't hang around long enough to lift our starter plates so we had to ask for them to be taken away! An when the food did come it was just like here ye go no customer service skills at all then some of the sides didn't even come we had to ask for them!

We had our meal which was lovely food was great ! But we just couldn't get over the poor service part for the one girl with dark hair who seemed to be trying to make up for the others poor service

As it was a birthday party we brought our own cake with us an had given it to the unhelpful waiter an then motioned for him to bring it out as our desert which am glad we did cause we were never going to be offered to see a dessert menu but watching the staff prepare I noticed at first the had selected some one else cake an had lit the candle an were about to bring it down only to be corrected an the right cake given to them to bring down then cause the cake had granny on it they had to send a member of staff down to ask even after I had told the fella who it was for !

The cake was brought down an that was ok we sang happy birthday an so on then noticed there was no plates brought down an no knives to cut the cake ! So we asked the waitress can we get the cake cut an then a man came down seem to be the owner with the box an asked did we want him to but it in the box or us an we were like no we asked for plates an knives so we can eat it for dessert ! Then he went got a knife and plates but no spoons or forks to eat it with so we had to get up an get them our selfs !!!

We didn't even get to ask for the bill as we were being eye balled the whole meal by the waiter that wanted us out !! So as soon as were any way near finished he rushed up with it ! Then upon leaving the first half our party were showed the back door not even given a choice which door to leave the place !!! Very disappointed as food was actually nice shame service was so bad !! Will not be back !

Date of visit: May 2016
4  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ollies also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Ollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing