We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Derry, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Resort199...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed 11 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The Avish Cottage was perfect for us. The cottage was comfortable on the inside and beautiful views around. And quiet. Easy access to all sites. The owner was especially gracious as was her brother.

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect rural retreat and exceptional hosts.”
Reviewed 18 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This old farm property is close to Derry and an ideal base for touring. It has been expertly and sympathetically restored with beautiful and interesting authentic objects and decor. Absolutely everything we needed was there, including sticky tape! The house was warm and well-heated with an eco-pellet heater plus option for slow combustion stove in the lounge room with wood from the farm.The owners Ann and Robert were great at communication and Robert even met us to show us the way through the Irish lanes when we arrived. Will definitely recommend for a genuine Irish welcome and an authentic cottage experience! Derry itself is also so welcoming of tourists and is a fascinating city.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 Jun 2018
Many thanks for your very kind comments about the Avish. We're delighted that you so enjoyed being in the cottage, that you found the sticky tape AND your way around the lanes and that you appreciated how great a city Derry has become once again! You will be more than welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryL5193
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best!”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Loved everything about the Avish Cottage! Beautifully decorated, everything you could've needed was right there waiting for your use both inside and out! Loved the outdoor seating area surrounded by lovely flowers & veggies! I would definitely stay here again! Thank you to Robert for all his thoughtful help, loved looking at the photo albums of the property restore, amazing job done

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Many thanks Mary for your very kind comments. It was really good of you to take the time to write a review. It was also great to have you at the cottage; we're very glad that you enjoyed being there and very appreciative of how well you'd looked after the house! You'll be more than welcome back any time and meantime, hope the return to work hasn't been too difficult!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkie456
Skipton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Comfortable, well equipped cottage in beautiful countryside with views over the valley and of the hills of Donegal beyond. Quiet and secluded, yet so convenient for the city and the sights. Lots of great finishing touches, including a welcome basket full of goodies. We found something new every day - a picture, an embroidery, an elegant piece of pottery and so on. It was interesting to read about the renovation of the cottage - it sounded daunting! A very kind welcome and ongoing TLC from Robert and helpful information prior to our trip from Ann - both of which were greatly appreciated. Thank you both!
We enjoyed our holiday very much - we were sorry to leave and could have happily stayed on - the fantastic weather probably wouldn't have continued though.
I'd recommend Avish cottage as an excellent holiday rental - I'd be very happy to return in an instant!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
16 May 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. It was just great having you to stay at the cottage for you were great guests and great company. Glad you enjoyed reading about the work we did rebuilding the place and that you liked discovering the various bits and bobs in the house! Especially glad that you had such wonderful weather so you could see our part of Ireland at its very best! Hope you all had a safe and pleasant trip back to Yorkshire. Come back to the Avish whenever you like - you'll be more than welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kleendent
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cottage envy....”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Very much straight out of the holiday magazine ... Beautiful well restored irish farmhouse property... as my title suggests don't stay here if you suffer from cottage envy ... you will want to wrap it up and take it with you.. This is the second time we have stayed at Avish ... a very relaxing break both times.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality of restoration
Liked least: leaving after only a week
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.