We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Table for 21 - no problem to Saffron ”
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #28 of 222 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At Saffron we serve authentic Indian food, with a small European Selection available. We have been in the business for over 3 decades and are coeliac friendly and also offer a large Vegetarian selection. We are family friendly and offer a wide range of Mullins ice cream and homemade desserts. We have Live Music at the weekends and are well known for our Cocktails.
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

As a group of 21 of friends we had an excellent meal at Saffron. We had let them know that we were coming and they coped with taking orders, serving dishes to the right person very well and in a close time span which takes a lot of behinds the scenes organisation.
The food was very good, sensible size portions - my only comment is that, my course at least, must have been quite salty in that I woke up 3 times during the night with a totally dry mouth, not pleasant.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank ChrisS390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukiNagra, Owner at Saffron, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear reviewer

thanks for your comments which I fully take on board. I am glad the rest of your group enjoyed their meals and I hope you will visit us again the next time you are visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

We had friends with us and visited Londonderry for the Halloween Events taking place.
We spoke with the owner Suki and booked a table for four. The restaurant is nicely laid out with more than adequate air conditioning and heating. Seating surrounds the central bar, which offers a vast array of drinks including cocktails range.
Dining at Saffron is quite informal but nonetheless very comfortable.

We were seated and served promptly and asked for our drinks order. Our drinks included Cobra, Rockshore lager and Soda Water and Lime ( for our designated driver) with a cocktail.
We had a good number of Poppadoms with a trio of dips. The starters were a succulent chicken tikka and Onion Bahji's, the Bahji could have been a little spicier, but that is just our choice, not everyone would agree.

For mains we ordered a Chicken Jalfrezi Mild and one Chicken Madras, Lamb Karahi, although this would also be termed a Ghosh Curry as it was lamb and finally a Lamb & Spinach meal. Suki explained when ordering that they tend to serve their meals with a thicker sauce, as they reduce much of the excess liquid.
Certainly their was no evidence of Ghee and the meal was just fabulous.

Plain Naan, Garlic & Coriander and Peshwari Naan bread all which were really nice.

We will certainly be going back and would say if you plan on a meal there, to make a reservation for a table.

From a price point of view this meal was excellent quality and taste at very sensible prices.



We must say thank you to Suki, but also to Tina and the other staff for looking after us.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank YORKY209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Really fancied a Friday night Indian and came across Saffron after our walk around the city walls.

Service was spot on and the food was amazing! Best tikka massala and peshwari naan were the best I’ve eaten.

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank lizzier1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Thought the food and service were great. Only in Derry a week and went twice. Easygoing atmosphere, allowed to linger and chat,

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank helenarobinson0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukiNagra, Manager at Saffron, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer,

thank you for your 5 star review. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience on both occasions during the week and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We ate here last night it was very tasty and the menu was well priced. Service was good both waiters were very friendly.
Overall lovely experience.
Will defiantly be back

Date of visit: August 2018
3  Thank fionad472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukiNagra, Owner at Saffron, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer

thank you for your lovely review. All of our team work hard to create a warm and friendly atmosphere and I am glad that you enjoyed your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing