We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sikh and ye shall find.”
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #28 of 225 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At Saffron we serve authentic Indian food, with a small European Selection available. We have been in the business for over 3 decades and are coeliac friendly and also offer a large Vegetarian selection. We are family friendly and offer a wide range of Mullins ice cream and homemade desserts. We have Live Music at the weekends and are well known for our Cocktails.
Reviewed 15 May 2018

A good crowd of us including two English, one Irish and two Sikhs!
South Indian influences mainly).

We all enjoyed the food.
Service a bit slow, but who cares!
Couls hardly be bettered

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _richardrawlins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukiNagra, Manager at Saffron, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear reviewer

thank you for your review and for taking time out to write your review. We appreciate your custom and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

We had dinner here yesterday. On arrival we were told a table would be around 15mins so we sat at the bar, 3 drinks and an hour later we got a table. Service was extremely poor. The owner was very rude also and the food was definitely not up to standard and way over priced. Will not be going back!

Date of visit: May 2018
7  Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukiNagra, Manager at Saffron, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Reviewer,

we appreciate your comments and can only apologise for you having to wait longer than expected on a busy night. It is very unfortunate that you thought anyone was rude to you, however, I can only say that was definitely not my intention. I hope you will not allow this one experience deter you from visiting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Service was good, although needed to make eye contact a few times to get the table cleared. Food did not really live up to expectations, very different tastes to what we are used to. Ordered Jalfrezi and it was so bland. We did tell the waiter but not sure if it will taken on board.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank Siobhan350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukiNagra, Manager at Saffron, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Reviewer

thank you for your comments both positive and negative. I'm glad you appreciated the service, however, we do pride ourselves on the quality of the food. Our dishes are made to order and can be altered to suit the individual customer, on request. We would highly recommend that you ask for the jalfrezi to be made medium hot if you prefer spicier curries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Was in for dinner on Saturday night, I got a gin fizz to start with , it was sooo good, then I ordered the lite option it was delicious as always. The garlic man is to die for. The service was very good ,the waiting staff are all very pleasant. Perfect

Date of visit: March 2018
2  Thank vickey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukiNagra, Manager at Saffron, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Reviewer

thank you for your 5 star review. Our cocktails are proving very popular with customers, as is the lite menu - as it is still very high in flavour, but very low in calories. I'm glad you enjoyed the whole Saffron experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

As usual, beautiful meal and gorgeous food. Great value too, well worth a visit. We eat in here fairly regularly and have never had a bad meal. Oh, and the house red is very tasty too

Date of visit: March 2018
3  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing