We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I stayed in The Tower Hotel for 2 nights in Oct whilst I was travelling around the area.

The hotel is in a good location within the old city walls of Derry and therefore within a couple mins walk of everything there.

I booked an executive room, it was spacious, a little dated but was OK for the price. The room did not have a fridge however which I was surprised at so had to go downstairs and get drinks each tome to take back to the room one night when I had a friend over.

The hotel offered carparking which was a bonus.

I would stay here again as the location is good and value for money also very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    320
    129
    36
    12
See reviews for
185
448
35
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The positives were that the staff are friendly, the rooms are adequate, there is underground parking. Not sure I would recommend it though for the following reasons.

The fitness centre was barely that. 6 machines with three of them out of action when I visited. Not to mention a weights bench reminiscent of something from Argos with one barbell and 2 dumbells. Also the machines are a tad retro. They still do the job (those that worked), but are very loud so I dread to think what running sounds like to rooms below or adjacent. The gym is 24 hours (key card access) though which is a bonus.

Food wise breakfast really isn't the best. A few things were advertised which on further questioning didn't actually exist (i.e. ham/ cheese for the continental breakfast). Besides that general presentation of the cold buffet was a bit lacking. Dinner in the bar was better, but it is a bar so a few randoms do appear on occassion.

The wifi isn't free, which I was advised of as I checked in so at some point I'd hope the expedia advert is updated.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Perfect for cheap and cheerful overnight stay - free car parking in the basement was a very convenient bonus. Staff were very welcoming and pleasant. I had booked a room with 2 beds and on arrival was allocated a room with one bed - informed reception and was immediately relocated. The room was spotless and had tv, tea coffee making facilities with fantastic views over the city. Could not fault any aspect of stay + would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ding_Co_Down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just spent the weekend in this hotel, it is a lovely hotel, the rooms were spacious and warm, the staff very friendly and helpful, short walking distance to the shopping, niteclife & restaurants, downside we went to the restaurant for their 'set meal' extra £2.00 for prawns ( not enough) £5.00 extra for the steak ( very small) potatoes luke warm, was not impressed with meal at all, would again return to the hotel but as there are a lot of bars/restaurants serving better food close by would eat out.

Room Tip: Try close by bar/restaurants for food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NannyMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The Tower hotel is located in a great place inside the city walls. On arrival the girls on reception were very helpful and welcoming. Toni recommended a tour of the city to us which was Martin Mc Crossan tours which was excellent a great way to get to know the city. The room was very spacious and the shower was great. The beds were very comfortable could not fault it at all. Breakfast and the evening meal were very nice and tasty. Would highly recommend this hotel due to its location and very helpful reception staff they really make the trip very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.4 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 12 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.1 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.8 km away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
7.7 km away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
6.2 km away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing