We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$164
View deal
Booking.com
US$163
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$133
View deal
Hotels.comUS$164
Trip.comUS$145
ZenHotels.comUS$224
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,648)
Filter reviews
2,650 results
Traveller rating
1,316
790
323
134
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,316
790
323
134
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peace bridge car park overlooking the river superior room guild hall steam room leisure facilities lovely hotel saturday night jazz festival reception staff evening meal both nights weekend break stayed here for one night first class would highly recommend this hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 2,650 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2022

Lovely stay at city hotel apart from the early wake up on our first night with alarms going (no explanation nor did we have to evacuate) Service in bar and restaurant is shocking though, staff just stand around socialising amongst themselves. Other than that food was lovely although really need to extend menu

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Kerrypatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2022 via mobile

Couldn’t find a direct email to contact.. this review is in to the restaurant Sunday lunch 16/01/22.

We as a family used to be weekly regulars at this restaurant, was always top class. We returned on Sunday and where shocked by the lack of service we received.

Waiters stood at the front desk with there back turned gossiping for minutes on end.

The food was beautiful, however it took ages I mean ages to arrive. Due to waiters socialising at the desk..

We ordered chips with our mains, we had to ask twice for these, the girl the first time went to the computer and was double checking we ordered these then never returned, we then had to ask the young boy, then a different girl brought them down , supervisor I am sure & apologised. when they arrived we where finished our dinner again they where beautiful but the service was slow and draining.

Very disappointed as the food is beautiful, all young staff just don’t want to be there which is clear to see.

We will be back once we know the service has improved as a few others we talked to had the same opinion.

Regards

Room tip: Restaurant
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bronagh2714
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2022 via mobile

The city hotel is fantastic from the staff, location and the food. It has a very friendly atmosphere. When we arrived we were upgraded to a superior room the view was fabulous. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank aileenarmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 January 2022 via mobile

With my 85yr old parents, serious hard work but delighted that my parents were given a room besides the lifts, and which were very quick, no waiting my daddy had stayed in another hotel which he wanted, and although he wanted to go there, the city hotel welcomed us,
We had a fantastic stay, but would go for ‘room only’ breakfast is a ‘no no’

Room tip: Go for ‘room only’ breakfast not good
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NannyMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 January 2022 via mobile

wee have stayed in the city hotel several times.This time wee bought my daughter as she loves swimming. I noticed for the first time the disabled facilities at the pool were a lack off. There is a disabled toilet before the changing rooms but it's not big enough to have the disabled person and carer to change in and no where for lying down to change bottom half or stoma needs. In the actual changing rooms no where for this privacy wise either the towels are tiny so everyone sees your body parts again no chance off privacy the lockers are sensitive and hard to use.The restaurant steak was yummy! The breakfast was grand with the covid restrictions.Beds comfortable but the pillows give you head aches and really need replaced.Mugs in the rooms would be better than the tiny cups. The hotel looked well for Christmas the shopping centres are basis shops but something to do. Staff need to explain to guests staying over with children that playing up and down in the lifts and running about the corridors to all hours that it's not on! wee stayed in a family room so noise is expected but 2am is crazy! And playing knock the doors and running. looking forward to getting a good night's sleep tonight.
Staff member Gerry from front desk was great! It's hard to find a great hotel and the city Is it just needs to tweek a few things to make it the best and lost its touch!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dd6412
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews