We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good setting for a large family meal”

The Magnet Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 217 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$125
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Under new management as of January 2014, At The Magnet Bar we serve you fabulous food, prepared using the freshest locally sourced ingredients. We guarantee delicious steaks, superb cocktails and an excellent atmosphere with 100% customer service. The perfect place for a pint of stout, relax and unwind watching the football on any one of our 13HD TV's. Serving quality food all day until 8pm. Live music Fri, Sat and Sun.
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We had a family meal here, about 15-20 people, and the place suited us very well.

Good choice of food, reasonable price and coped well with a big order.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank steven e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105DanM, Manager at The Magnet Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hello Steven e. We try our best to cater for any size of group so i am very pleased that your group were happy. I am also happy that you enjoyed our food choices and price. See you again soon. Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Decidedat short notice to go out for dinner with husband. Both had steaks. Service good. Steak cooked to perfection and gluten free pepper sauce best I have ever tasted.very busy and quite noisy but good value.

Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105DanM, Manager at The Magnet Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hi Margaret B. I am so happy that you enjoyed our steaks, which are supplied by our local butchers and cooked to your liking by our grill chefs. We try our best to provide for anyone food allergies and i must agree that our home made sauces are to die for. see you soon. Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Visit here alot with my partner and my daughter (6).
Service is great and food is beautiful. Love the tobacco onions. We particularly enjoy the calm atmosphere her. We would visit for lunch and dinner and never have any complaints.
I would recommend here as it us reasonably priced for the high quality of food received.

Thank Cosmopolitan58432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105DanM, Manager at The Magnet Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hello. Great quality food at affordable prices in a nice relaxing atmosphere is what we aim to provide here at The Magnet so i am so happy you and your family enjoyed it. See you again soon. Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Called in for a few drinks with family and friends in the afternoon,got hungry so ordered some food.
Food was lovely,service quick and efficient.
Would recommend this bar for both locals and tourists.

Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105DanM, Manager at The Magnet Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hi Alan D. Thanks for the review. i hope to see you again soon. Thanks for the spreading the word about us also. Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

After being turned away from our usual restaurant we made a mad dash down the road to try and get somewhere to have dinner, We called in on the off chance of getting served! The bar man was one in a million. He said the kitchen was closing....but come on in and grab a table! The staff couldn't have been nicer, bringing us a menu straight away and offering us a drink while we made our choices!
The food was 5* pub grub, with a huge selection to suit every taste. Everyone was delighted with their dinner, cleared plates all round! We stayed and enjoyed the live band, who were playing all the old favourites! No one tried to rush us out and all the staff made us feel that this will be our new number one port of call! Hats off to these guys, not only for the food, which was very good but also for the high level of customer service displayed by each and every member of staff

Thank Diana75Holywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105DanM, Manager at The Magnet Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hi Diane75. Thanks for the wonderful review. i am really happy that you enjoyed your visit to The Magnet. I have passed your kind words on to our staff who work very hard to provide the best customer care they can. I hope to see you again in the future for a wee drink. a bite to eat and some great entertainment. Regards Ronan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Magnet Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Magnet Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing