We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Martin McCrossan's Derry City Walking Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Tours

City Tours
Ranked #1 of 18 Tours in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Martin McCrossan's Derry City Walking Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

For only £4 this guide walking tour for around an hour was well worth it. Informative, serious with some local humour thrown in (John was our guide) made it very memorable. Also good way to get orientation of city and sights. And a free cup of tea comes part of the package...we were impressed!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ellis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    25
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ards
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“First class, interesting and impartial tour of this history soaked city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

We spent a very pleasant and informative if a little damp hour in the company of our well-informed and funny guide John McNulty.

Time whizzed by as he led us round Derry's walls expertly walking backwards and talking at the same time, no mean feat!

A fabulous city and a first class synopsis of it's history, excellent value for money to boot.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheMayorofNantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LEGENDERRY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

I booked Martin McCrossan City Tours for a large group outing in October '12. We were staying in the City Hotel and Martin picked us up there and started our tour. The history the man has and the love he has for his City is truly something else. There is something about a person who has passion like Martin. He made us laugh, cry and reflect on the history of Derry. What a truely professional tour company. I can say it was the best guided tour of any city I have ever been to and I've been to many. What a joy to experience a guide like Martin in my own country. Will I be back? Definitely. Will I recommend City Tours? Definitely. Well done City Tours you are LEGENDERRY. ps Martin must have eyes in the back of his head. Book him and you will see why.

Ballycrochan Walking Group.

Helpful?
2 Thank Pinehill24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinha Grande, Portugal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great tour and great guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We bought our tour at a local shopping centre and our guide John showed up to start an unforgettable trip around Derry's city walls, showing all the main historical places, sites and also explaining all the turmoil the city endured for hundreds of years, until it reached a peaceful present. A great value for our 4£! The tour ended in a tea/coffee house, what felt great and invitiong, because the day was cold and rainy!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsaRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour of the Walled City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

On our visit to Derry last week, we decided to take a walking tour rather than self-direct. Martin McCrossan's City Tours has a kiosk inside the shopping mall directly adjacent to the garage where parking is readily available and just steps from the entrance to the walled city. The woman running the kiosk could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We purchased our tickets, walked outside and were met by our tour guide, John. We had a wonderful experience for the next hour. John knows the city inside and out and literally and figuratively "walked" us through the background about "the troubles," the architecture and so much more. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone traveling to Derry. And anyone traveling to Ireland should make a point of seeing the north. The troubles are over and there is much wonderment to see in Northern Ireland. McCrossan's City Tours will get you off on the right foot (as it were)!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BMan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Tours also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to City Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing