We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Gym at the Clubhouse
Gym at the Clubhouse
Clubhouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Michael B
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A perfect hideaway”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

An ideal bolt-hole for a weekend or longer. Historic gate lodge right in Northern Ireland's premier forest park with views of the Mourne Mountains from your front door. Cosy open fire, all mod cons, everything a visitor could need. Out of the way yet just a short drive to lots of activities, restaurants etc. Mind you, once you settle in, you may not be too keen to go out again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2015
Glad you enjoyed it. Always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaineb44
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We were very lucky to spend a long weekend at this beautiful cottage. The location could not be beaten....we had fantastic weather for January so we just walked every day. We didn't use the car at all while we were there as there are so many wonderful walks that can be started from Tullymore, - the Mournes, Newcastle, Castlewellan and the park itself! It was lovely to come back at the end of the day and light the fire - the cottage was cosy and warm in no time at all - our Springer just toasted herself in front of the fire too. Beds are really comfy and great power in the shower. Cottage was perfectly clean and beautifully presented. I would love to stay here again and would recommend this rental to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
So glad you enjoyed it and you are welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigmicky4...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“tollymore”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

had a wonderful stay at the gate house,the gate lodge is in an ideal setting on the edge of tollymore forest.i will be going back to this paradise

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2014
And we'll be delighted to welcome you back Sir. Just let us know when....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenFlem...
1 review
“A Perfect Compliment to a Beautiful Forest.”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The Tollymore Forest Lodge has two big bedrooms with king size beds. I slept very well every night. The decor is lots of hardwood and several contemplative lines of poetry artistically displayed throughout. The Irish are a literary people! The only tricky thing to work for an American like myself was the shower. But I soon discovered a well written set of directions, followed them, and then loads of hot water with good pressure came pouring out. You need to bring your own food but I found a shop maybe 10 min down the road. The weather was great so I sat at the table they had arranged on the side lawn and, while my clothes dried on the clothes line, looked around. And no matter which way I turned my head there was astonishing beauty. The lodge in the Tollymore Forest, the elfin grotto on the Emeral Island, was the highlight of my trip!

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
A literary review, written by a very literate gentleman! It was a pleasure to have you with us Allen, I know you were working on a book and I hope the beauty of Tollymore assisted with the inspiration. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pablonabl...
Belfast
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a special location”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This 200 year old cottage is full of character and history, from the traditional fireplace to the . The kitchen and living room are quite small, but have all the necessary mod cons. The bedrooms are spacious. However, the best thing about it is the location - within the magnificant Tollymore Forest Park and in the foothills of the Mourne Mountains. There is so much to see and do in this area of outstanding beauty. To be able to walk out the back gate and wander straight into the forest was a real delight. This cottage is highly recommended for those who love nature - you won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2014
Glad you weren't disappointed, it really is a stunning little cottage in the most wonderful location. Problem is, it's so popular, we rarely get to stay ourselves! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$121
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing