We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,610)
Filter reviews
3,610 results
Traveller rating
2,207
681
385
225
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,207
681
385
225
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oak restaurant percy french slieve donard lighthouse lounge mourne mountains vitality pool resort rooms beautiful hotel sea view irish sea steam room superior room porridge hastings hotels restaurant manager buffet style first class
Filter
Updating list...
575 - 580 of 3,610 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We were looking forward to a relaxing night away and using the spa at the hotel. However we were very disappointented in the spa facilities. We were hoping to spend a relaxing day in the spa however when we arrived we were told we only had access to the facilities in the lower floor of the spa which was only the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. The upper floor was for treatments. We did not book in for a treatment so cannot comment on that. Was extremely disappointed this hotel didnt even have heated loungers and there was only 8 non-heated loungers. The spa was extremely noisy with childrens swimming lessons taking place so was definitely not a relaxing expierence. The most disappointing thing of all was the view! While in the pool and on the loungers you were directly looking into the customer carpark. This made us feel uncomfortable and again not relaxing at all. This view was extremely misleading on any of the hotel photos. After expecting to spend a full afternoon relaxing in the spa we left after 30 minutes

I will say the staff were more than helpful from helping with our luggage to the very friendly reception staff. The bedroom and bathroom were very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. However the water from the shower was not very warm. We had lunch in percy french restaurant which was lovely.

Given the price and reputation of this hotel we were expecting a lot from from the spa. Dont think we will return to the hotel

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sarahanne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh_GS, Guest Relations Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the property after your recent stay, we really appreciate your feedback.

It is disappointing to hear you were not satisfied with the Spa facilities. The pool area does have limited floor space and due to health safety and also to ensure our guests can relax we can only provide a certain number of loungers, plus 6 other chairs with tables and our Juice Bar seating area.

There are allocated swim times given for children which are 9am-12am and 3pm-6pm, which are stated on your room card at check in to ensure there is both times suitable for families and adult only times, I apologize if this ruined your experience.

I am delighted to hear our staff were extremely helpful and you enjoyed your dinning experience and room facilities.

I do hope this experience does not put you off return back to the Slieve Donard in future and if you do please let me know and I can personally assist with your booking.

Kind Regards,
Ashleigh Hamilton
Guest Services Coordinator
Slieve Donard Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We had a wonderful spa break here. Everything is spotless, room spacious and bed very comfortable.
the staff are friendly and efficient and our stay could not have more relaxing. The breakfast is delicious and caters for gluten free and vegetarian with no fuss. Thank you to all the staff. We will we back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jollyjulie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh_GS, Guest Relations Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you so much for this lovely review, we really appreciate your feedback.

We take great pride in catering to our guests needs the best way we can and to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us is wonderful news.

Thank you for choosing the Slieve Donard Resort and Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ashleigh Hamilton
Guest Services Coordinator
Slieve Donard Resort & Spa
guestservices@sdh.hastingshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the last 50 years, and I have never known the quality to drop. It is just so well kept, maintained, and spic and span. We brought some visitors from England this time and they were in thrall to the location and the views. I saw it all with new eyes, enjoying the scenery changing with the weather. Breakfast is excellent, plenty of choice and breathtaking views if you ask for a window seat. The bar is really lovely, just beware the exorbitant drink prices.
We ate in the Percy French restaurant both nights, excellent too, and drink prices are lower. We only stayed 2 nights this time, but will come back for longer next time. There is so much to do in Co Down.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JaneR18375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable time with us.
Thank you for choosing Hastings Hotels and the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Resort in the future. If you have any questions or require any future assistance, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind regards,

Niall Burns
Operations Manager
ops@sdh.hastingshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My girlfriend and I were visiting Newcastle to play golf but were not guests in the hotel, however the Oak Restaurant team went out of their way to accommodate us for breakfast. The food was excellent, whilst more importantly the staff were helpful & spent time to chat to us about our plans. The manager especially had a great sense of humor & the whole experience was a great way to start the day in the town. Will be back again when visiting next!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vincentblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable time with us.
Thank you for choosing Hastings Hotels and the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Resort in the future. If you have any questions or require any future assistance, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind regards,

Niall Burns
Operations Manager
ops@sdh.hastingshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We recently celebrated our wedding at the Slieve Donard Resort and Spa and it was truly the best day of our lives. A massive THANK-YOU to Stephen and his amazing team!
Everything from start to finish was perfect and we couldn’t have wished for any more. We really appreciated all the efforts on the day; the attention to detail from the team, the professionalism and friendliness of staff. The food was incredible- we received so many compliments- thankyou to Head Chef Hazel and her team in the kitchen.

Lauren looked after us on the day and is an absolute superstar. She made the whole process seamless, right from the very beginning- she was a pleasure to deal with and nothing was too much trouble.

Thank-you for making our wedding such a special day- we had a wonderful, unforgettable (and surprising relaxing) day! We had so many compliments regarding the venue from our guests and the Slieve will always hold a special place in our hearts for us and many of our family.

Many thanks,
Rachel & Steve

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of your wedding day at the Resort I am delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable time with us.
Thank you in particular for your kind comments about Stephen, Hazel, Lauren and indeed the entire team.
Thank you for choosing Hastings Hotels and the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Resort in the future. If you have any questions or require any future assistance, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Wishing you both a long and happy marriage.

Kind regards,

Niall Burns
Operations Manager
ops@sdh.hastingshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews