We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We had a wonderful spa break here. Everything is spotless, room spacious and bed very comfortable.
the staff are friendly and efficient and our stay could not have more relaxing. The breakfast is delicious and caters for gluten free and vegetarian with no fuss. Thank you to all the staff. We will we back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jollyjulie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh_GS, Guest Relations Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you so much for this lovely review, we really appreciate your feedback.

We take great pride in catering to our guests needs the best way we can and to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us is wonderful news.

Thank you for choosing the Slieve Donard Resort and Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ashleigh Hamilton
Guest Services Coordinator
Slieve Donard Resort & Spa
guestservices@sdh.hastingshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 220 of 3,247 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the last 50 years, and I have never known the quality to drop. It is just so well kept, maintained, and spic and span. We brought some visitors from England this time and they were in thrall to the location and the views. I saw it all with new eyes, enjoying the scenery changing with the weather. Breakfast is excellent, plenty of choice and breathtaking views if you ask for a window seat. The bar is really lovely, just beware the exorbitant drink prices.
We ate in the Percy French restaurant both nights, excellent too, and drink prices are lower. We only stayed 2 nights this time, but will come back for longer next time. There is so much to do in Co Down.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JaneR18375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable time with us.
Thank you for choosing Hastings Hotels and the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Resort in the future. If you have any questions or require any future assistance, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind regards,

Niall Burns
Operations Manager
ops@sdh.hastingshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My girlfriend and I were visiting Newcastle to play golf but were not guests in the hotel, however the Oak Restaurant team went out of their way to accommodate us for breakfast. The food was excellent, whilst more importantly the staff were helpful & spent time to chat to us about our plans. The manager especially had a great sense of humor & the whole experience was a great way to start the day in the town. Will be back again when visiting next!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vincentblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable time with us.
Thank you for choosing Hastings Hotels and the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Resort in the future. If you have any questions or require any future assistance, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind regards,

Niall Burns
Operations Manager
ops@sdh.hastingshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We recently celebrated our wedding at the Slieve Donard Resort and Spa and it was truly the best day of our lives. A massive THANK-YOU to Stephen and his amazing team!
Everything from start to finish was perfect and we couldn’t have wished for any more. We really appreciated all the efforts on the day; the attention to detail from the team, the professionalism and friendliness of staff. The food was incredible- we received so many compliments- thankyou to Head Chef Hazel and her team in the kitchen.

Lauren looked after us on the day and is an absolute superstar. She made the whole process seamless, right from the very beginning- she was a pleasure to deal with and nothing was too much trouble.

Thank-you for making our wedding such a special day- we had a wonderful, unforgettable (and surprising relaxing) day! We had so many compliments regarding the venue from our guests and the Slieve will always hold a special place in our hearts for us and many of our family.

Many thanks,
Rachel & Steve

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of your wedding day at the Resort I am delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable time with us.
Thank you in particular for your kind comments about Stephen, Hazel, Lauren and indeed the entire team.
Thank you for choosing Hastings Hotels and the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Resort in the future. If you have any questions or require any future assistance, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Wishing you both a long and happy marriage.

Kind regards,

Niall Burns
Operations Manager
ops@sdh.hastingshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We stayed for two nights at Slieve Donard Resort. The amenities were 5 star, room was very comfortable with all high end quality. To see the sun set over the water was worth the upgrade. The staff very friendly and helpful. The buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolcS5085TI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable time with us.
Thank you for choosing Hastings Hotels and the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Resort in the future. If you have any questions or require any future assistance, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind regards,

Niall Burns
Operations Manager
ops@sdh.hastingshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
0.3 km away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
133 reviews
2 km away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
163 reviews
30 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.2 km away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
37.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 47 in Belfast
1,688 reviews
1.3 km away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#8 of 18 in Newcastle
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Donard Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Donard Resort and Spa

Address: Downs Road, Newcastle BT33 0AH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newcastle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: €158 - €374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Donard Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the foot of the Mourne Mountains, the Slieve Donard stands in six acres of private grounds, and is one of Northern Ireland's most popular hotels. The luxurious ESPA Spa commands spectacular panoramic views of the County Down coastline and Mountains of Mourne and provides a perfect oasis of tranquility rivals any spa in Europe today. This superbly maintained Victorian hotel is equally suited to a short break, residential conference or grand event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Slieve Donard Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Donard Newcastle
Donard Hotel Slieve
Donard Hotel Newcastle Slieve
Slieve Donard Hotel Newcastle
Slieve Donard Resort And Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing