We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donard Hotel(Newcastle)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Meelmore Lodge(Newcastle)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,476)
Filter reviews
3,476 results
Traveller rating
2,123
661
371
214
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,123
661
371
214
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoak restaurantpercy frenchslieve donardlighthouse loungemourne mountainsvitality poolresort roomsbeautiful hotelafternoon teasea viewsteam roomirish seaporridgesuperior roomrestaurant managerbuffet stylefirst class
Filter
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 3,476 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the last 50 years, and I have never known the quality to drop. It is just so well kept, maintained, and spic and span. We brought some visitors from England this time and they were in thrall to the location and the views. I saw it all with new eyes, enjoying the scenery changing with the weather. Breakfast is excellent, plenty of choice and breathtaking views if you ask for a window seat. The bar is really lovely, just beware the exorbitant drink prices.
We ate in the Percy French restaurant both nights, excellent too, and drink prices are lower. We only stayed 2 nights this time, but will come back for longer next time. There is so much to do in Co Down.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JaneR18375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable time with us.
Thank you for choosing Hastings Hotels and the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Resort in the future. If you have any questions or require any future assistance, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind regards,

Niall Burns
Operations Manager
ops@sdh.hastingshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My girlfriend and I were visiting Newcastle to play golf but were not guests in the hotel, however the Oak Restaurant team went out of their way to accommodate us for breakfast. The food was excellent, whilst more importantly the staff were helpful & spent time to chat to us about our plans. The manager especially had a great sense of humor & the whole experience was a great way to start the day in the town. Will be back again when visiting next!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vincentblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable time with us.
Thank you for choosing Hastings Hotels and the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Resort in the future. If you have any questions or require any future assistance, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind regards,

Niall Burns
Operations Manager
ops@sdh.hastingshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We recently celebrated our wedding at the Slieve Donard Resort and Spa and it was truly the best day of our lives. A massive THANK-YOU to Stephen and his amazing team!
Everything from start to finish was perfect and we couldn’t have wished for any more. We really appreciated all the efforts on the day; the attention to detail from the team, the professionalism and friendliness of staff. The food was incredible- we received so many compliments- thankyou to Head Chef Hazel and her team in the kitchen.

Lauren looked after us on the day and is an absolute superstar. She made the whole process seamless, right from the very beginning- she was a pleasure to deal with and nothing was too much trouble.

Thank-you for making our wedding such a special day- we had a wonderful, unforgettable (and surprising relaxing) day! We had so many compliments regarding the venue from our guests and the Slieve will always hold a special place in our hearts for us and many of our family.

Many thanks,
Rachel & Steve

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of your wedding day at the Resort I am delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable time with us.
Thank you in particular for your kind comments about Stephen, Hazel, Lauren and indeed the entire team.
Thank you for choosing Hastings Hotels and the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Resort in the future. If you have any questions or require any future assistance, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Wishing you both a long and happy marriage.

Kind regards,

Niall Burns
Operations Manager
ops@sdh.hastingshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We stayed for two nights at Slieve Donard Resort. The amenities were 5 star, room was very comfortable with all high end quality. To see the sun set over the water was worth the upgrade. The staff very friendly and helpful. The buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolcS5085TI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable time with us.
Thank you for choosing Hastings Hotels and the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Resort in the future. If you have any questions or require any future assistance, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind regards,

Niall Burns
Operations Manager
ops@sdh.hastingshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I recently had my wedding at the Slieve Donard and it was perfect. Lauren Bernard was our Wedding Coordinator and she was amazing. From the first time my husband and I met with her, we felt like we were friends. We received the most personal service from her from then right through to our wedding day. Lauren was very efficient and she organised everything exactly as we wanted. Nothing was ever a problem and she was always so happy to hear from us. On the day itself, she and her staff looked after us so well. Lauren oversaw the whole day and her attention to detail was brilliant. Not only that but she had a smile on her face the whole time! We really felt in safe hands.
All the staff working at our wedding were all great. In particular, Oisin, who was one of the waiters - so many of my guests commented on how friendly and attentive he was. Rory, too, was great behind the bar. He recommended his and hers drinks for our wedding reception months beforehand and remembered us on our big day. Our guests loved him too as he was so friendly. The food was delicious (which is not always the case at big weddings), the drinks flowed and the service was excellent. We used The Chandelier Suite for our ceremony and meal. We were lucky to have a beautiful sunny autumn day so the views were stunning from the room. The backdrop of this hotel is breath taking and the event/function staff are fantastic. As a bride and groom, we received 5 star treatment on our big day and that made the day even more special. I would highly recommend the Slieve as a wedding venue.
Thank you to Lauren, Mohammed (Duty Manager who looked after us) and the whole team at the Slieve Donard. We had a great day and will be regular visitors to the hotel from now on

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank meabhc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berni_Guest_Services, Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable wedding at the Resort.
Thank you for commending Lauren, Rory, Mohammed and the entire team
Thank you for choosing Hastings Hotels and the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Resort in the future. If you have any questions or require any future assistance, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind regards,

Niall Burns
Operations Manager
ops@sdh.hastingshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews