We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday in this peaceful, beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Hemp Cottage in its natural garden setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hemp Cottage in its natural garden setting
Hemp Cottage sheltered deck within sight & earshot of the river Hemp Cottage from the river bank. ( river bank now discretely fenced for child security)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Hemp Cottage in its natural garden setting
Hemp Cottage sheltered deck within sight & earshot of the river
Hemp Cottage from the river bank. ( river bank now discretely fenced for child security)
Historic Bridge over the Ballynahinch River. See  video.
Hemp Cottage early Spring
Table with corner window
Sliding doors out onto the veranda
Accessible shower room
Double bedroom, second bedroom has bunk beds
Front veranda
Chickens : pretty entertaining at times !
Our Converted Mill sharing river frontage grounds with Hemp Cottage, including PV covered logstore.
The Mourne Mountains from Tyrella Beach
Recent residents
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Downpatrick, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

JANE F
1 review
“Perfect holiday in this peaceful, beautiful eco-cottage”
Reviewed 18 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This peaceful, clever cottage really worked for us - it feels like a good place to be in. We loved the verandah for sitting out and eating, the newlaid eggs when the hens were performing. Our hosts were both friendly and respectful of our privacy. Excellent location for visiting many of County Down's best sites. Very well-equipped. The eco-construction fascinated us - it keeps warm and cool - ideal for Irish weather.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The beauty and eco-friendliness of the cottage
Liked least: Having to go away
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 Jun 2016
Many thanks Jane for your review. It was great having you both staying in Hemp Cottage for 2 weeks and we really hope you'll be back next year.
Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa L
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful cottage, friendly welcome”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for five nights at Hemp Cottage with our 18 month old son. Proprietors Rachel and Tom were very friendly and attentive. We were made to feel very welcome, especially with our young child. There was a fully made up cot on our arrival, a baby bath to use with the shower and age appropriate toys and books provided. The cottage is beautiful, as is the garden which includes entertaining ducks and chickens! We would certainly recommend staying at Hemp Cottage and hope to return soon.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InaD351
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely, secluded, quiet”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed for 2 weeks during July and loved it. It is a peaceful and tranquil place to unwind. The cottage has a wrap-around veranda, so even when it is raining one can sit outside. It is well equipped and the beds were comfortable. There is plenty to see and do in the area. We hired bikes, walked the Mourne Mountains and along some coastal paths, and had some very good food. Belfast isn't far and Dublin is a possibility. Rachel and Tom were excellent hosts with a wealth of local knowledge. We would be more than happy to return one day.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conor M
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“An inspirational little gem of a cottage”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had a great stay and look forward to staying again. We stayed from Friday Jan 16 to Mon Jan 19 2015.
Our reason for staying in the cottage was a combination of business and pleasure. We are scoping building solutions for our planned self-build project and had read a number of articles on the advantages of hempcrete as a building material. We were very impressed by what we had read, but being sceptics by nature, we wanted to have a closer look. A stay in Beverly and Tom’s hempcrete cottage seemed the perfect solution. As such, my review may focus more on the building than other reviews.
The cottage was easy to find with good instructions on the website. There was a lovely cosy log fire burning when we arrived and the owner (and architect) Rachel was on hand to show us around and explain how to adjust the underfloor heating, shower, stove etc.
It’s a lovely little building. Modest in size (about 100m2 I think), consisting of two bedrooms (one main bedroom with a double bed and one smaller room with a bunk bed), a wet room, some storage space and then the main living space, made up of a combined kitchen, dining room and living room area.
This combined area is a lovely space to spend time in, with the high ceilings and windows on three sides making it feel light, airy and spacious.
The cottage site is quite rural, set in a small orchard at the bottom of the owner’s garden and beside a tree-shaded river. There’s a chicken coup outside, which was a source of great entertainment for our three year old boy, who spent a fair bit of time ‘herding’ the chickens. The cottage is around a five-minute drive from the village of Crossgar, which had plenty of basic facilities (butchers, grocers, petrol station, some convenience stores, pubs, restaurants etc). It’s a relatively tranquil site and the quiet country roads nearby are well suited to walking or cycling.
If you're planning a stay with young children, the house came equipped with a travel cot and some toys suitable for five year olds and younger.
We didn’t explore too much, given the time of year, young children and particularly cold weather that weekend (-5 at night, barely above freezing during the day) but there were plenty of tourism brochures in the house, suggesting trips, activities and areas of interest.
Beverly and Tom were great company and we had a good chat with both of them about the cottage and the reasons for selecting hempcrete as a building material. The cottage bookshelves have plenty of books and magazine articles on the subject of sustainable building, which I really enjoyed.
We had a lovely relaxing stay – the cottage is an inspirational little building with lots of thoughtful design touches, the setting is perfect for a young family looking to get away for a few days and the owners a pleasure to meet.
We hope to visit again before too long, and have recommended it to many family and friends. If you’re interested in hempcrete as a building material, a stay here is a great way to get a feel for how it performs, and if you’ve never heard of hempcrete and have zero interest in such things, you’ll just be vaguely aware that it’s a lovely building to spend time in.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The main living area is nicely designed and was a joy to spend time in.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.