We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, friendly and top quality”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Newton Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castlewellan, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tee2green...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly and top quality”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great hosts who provided an abundant fruit basket and essentials on our arrival. Extended family visit for the British Senior Golf Championship in Newcastle. Accommodation was second to none with quality fittings and furnishings, Excellent drying room for all clothes and golf equipment following the one day of rain. Under floor heating kept the house at a comfortable temperature. BBQ and outdoor seating for the superb summer evenings.
Extra wide doorways and hall enabled our elderly parents ease of movement and all four bedrooms were extremely spacious. Brilliant design for 8 guests and central location to all the area has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly reception and quality furnishings and linen.
Liked least: Didn't stay long enough!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us at Newton Lodge. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in Southern Ireland. Maybe the next time our paths will cross will be back in Australia when we visit. Your putter cover has had its first outing on the golf course today, Thank You again for this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M
1 review
“Superb accommodation”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were looking for a big house suitable to hold the extended family and this was perfect. Things were extremely clean upon arrival. The owner was friendly and helpful but not invasive at all and left us to enjoy ourselves whilst being available when needed. The grounds of the house are spacious and great fun for young children with bikes and balls - with a secure gate so that they couldn't wander on to the road. Inside the house is great, lots of bathrooms, two big lounge areas, spacious kitchen. Lots of wee extras like tea and coffee and butter and things left out for us which was very kind. We broke a glass and the owners were lovely about it! Would heartily recommend for a non-stress self catering place. And of course the surrounding area is lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara S
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous, we'll be back”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just home after spending 10 days here. had a wonderful holiday. Bungalow excellent, so comfortable, well-equipped, spacious. The accessibility was excellent as we had a family member with severe disabilities so the equipment available made the holiday excellent, relaxing and enjoyable for him. Owners very friendly, helpful. Weather was great so able to get out and about or relax in the property garden. We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness and facilities for disabled/wheelchair user
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Thank you Barbara for this review, we look forward to your return in the future. It was a pleasure having you all to stay with us and are pleased you found the facilities catered for your requirements. If there is anything at all which comes to mind that would make your holiday even better let us know and we will do our best to provide for future holidays. Thank you again for staying with us at Newton Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aidine
Portstewart, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Had a great time here at Hallowe'en half term, six of us stayed here (my husband and myself with our two wee girls, and his parents).

The house itself is perfect - a newly built bungalow with 4 very spacious bedrooms, lovely entrance lounge, and fantastic kitchen/ diner with living space. The 3 bathrooms were immaculate, with super facilities to cater for wheelchair-bound guests. The pictures on their website show that it is a beautiful house, but don't do it justice in terms of size - there are 2 three piece suites in the entrance lounge, and plenty if space to spare. The same can be said for the rest of the house.

There was an arrivals basket of fruit, fresh bread, milk and butter for us to enjoy, all the "trivial" essentials (tea, coffee, salt, pepper etc), and same can be said for cleaning products etc. Catherine and Dessie were great, on hand and willing to assist if required. They were great hosts and went above and beyond our expectations.

This was our first visit to the area, and there is a wealth of things to do, particularly if you enjoy being outdoors, with Castlewellan Forest Park being a five minute walk away, and all that the Mournes has to offer.

We all really enjoyed our stay here, and could not recommend it enough - we look forward to returning. Thank you Catherine and Dessie :-)

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything we could want was there for us
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Newton Lodge. We look forward to seeing you again some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans C
Zeist, The Netherlands
1 review
“Superior house with great hosts Catherine and Dessie.”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

At arrival we (group of 5 Dutch golfers) were welcomed by Catherine and a burning open fireplace.
The quality of the new built house is outstanding . Everything is there . Drying room: four excellent bedrooms with excellent beds and three roomy bathrooms with powerdouches .Big kitchen and diningtablewith open fireplace. This house is also perfect for disabeled persons. We had is nice chat with the husband of Catherine , Dessie, who told us stories about Ireland and Irish whiskey...
All of us were raving about our stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2014
Thank you for your review, it was great to meet you and your golfing friends and were so delighted you got some good weather to play the Royal County Down golf course. We hope you are able to return again to the beautiful County Down and enjoy more off the great hospitality on offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing