We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveller rating
269
231
102
59
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
231
102
59
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities good size busy hotel reception area single bed coffee bar saturday night armagh city sunday carvery ample parking weekend break steak fried eggs pleasant stay bar restaurant salmon car parking
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 704 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

3 of us stayed here in a 2 room apt which was very comfortable and could have slept 5/6 great big rooms and the beds are so comfortable,, all the wee extras in the bathroom which is always nice, the staff were so very helpful and funny especially the girls at reception they would make u want to come back on their own, we ate in the bar and it was so tasty the veal is a must try

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank tpdeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Had an over night stay last night in armagh city hotel , this hotel is really beautiful , the rooms are very comfy and very clean . The staff are really helpful and friendly and extremely polite .It is in walking distance of armagh city and plenty to see and do around the area . Really enjoyed my stay here and hope to be back again real soon

Room Tip: i was in room 127 and i had a fab view of Armagh Rugby Club an Pitch if there had a being a game on it was ideal view to sit and watch
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

The hotel was busy during the week which meant I was allocated one of the suites. Amazing rooms,good sizes with good storage. Beds were ok, mattress was a bit flat,but ok for sleeping. The rooms were very warm,but you can get a fan from reception if this is to warm for you, I manged with the windows open (my colleague in a room on the front of the hotel said you couldn't sleep with the windows open due to traffic noise- glazing was effective to block out the noise.)
Excellent size bathroom and the complimentary toiletries were nice. Bath and shower- bath was big enough I could lay down (I am 5'7").
Should there be a fire- the alarm will wake anyone from their deepest slumber!
We ate in the bar for our evening meal;the food was lovely and reasonably priced. Highly recommend the lasagne and the roast (especially the beef) you must try the champ- delicious. Small selection of desserts -Armagh is famous for Bramley Apples,so you should try the apple pie.
Breakfast was a serve yourself buffet. I had seen some not so complementary reviews about this- In my opinion,breakfast was v good.If you wanted egg other than scrambled,all you had to do was ask. The choice was good and there was plenty of food.
WiFi signal in the room was intermittent and not particularly strong at times.
The staff make the hotel what it is.There wasn't one member we encountered that wasn't friendly or helpful.
Would I recommend a stay here? In a heartbeat :)

Room Tip: The rooms to the rear of the hotel have less traffic noise and a good view of the rugby pitches
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpy-wench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Attended a weekend conference here, so two nights B&B, supper on Friday night and five course dinner on Saturday night, plus lunch and splendid tea and coffee breaks, with substantial homemade shortbread biscuits.
The Ulster Fry is legendary, and there is nothing omitted from it in this hotel. Excellent quality black and white pudding, large juicy sausages, crisp rashers, and both soda bread and a potato cake which some local attendees called " fadge", all beautifully toasted and pre cut into triangles.
There is a very well equipped gymnasium and a pool, sauna and jacuzzi.
One thing about the pool though; it has no graduated steps down into it - just the old fashioned type of pool ladder which you reverse down into the pool on!
Getting out proved a bit difficult for someone with arthritic joints. Getting a grip on the ladder and trying to haul oneself up was a problem not anticipated when lowering oneself in. It's awkward and quite painful for hands that don't grip well.
It meant that I didn't return to the pool during the rest of my stay. There is a person on leisure centre reception, but she seemed to be multi tasking, was really busy, and it didn't seem to be the best time to comment.
The Conference centre is bright and airy with lots of access to toilets for large groups and I must say a very efficient method of serving large numbers of people with teas and coffees in a short time - plenty of staff.
Over the whole weekend, the plentitude of staff, mostly very young and very polite, was remarked on.
Hotel is within walking distance of everything in Armagh. Beautiful grounds, pretty aspect. Acres of parking.

There is also a very well equipped coffee bar with the most superb homemade cakes just off the large lobby.
Check in, and check out all done efficiently and pleasantly. I intend to return at some stage for a non-working break. My first time ever to stay anywhere in Northern Ireland and first impressions really do last.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank marie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Stated for a long weekend to visit family in Armagh. We have stayed in self catering holiday homes, but the difference in price was negligible so we opted for City Hotel. We were not disappointed, we got a lovely large room with king size bed and a single (we had booked a family room but at other hotels this often means a camp bed shoved in for our 5 year old!)

The staff in the bar and breakfast restaurants were great, very friendly. Food and wine reasonably priced. The hotel is constantly busy with conferences, dinner dances etc but this did not deter from the service in the main hotel.

Breakfast was lovely. Didn't eat in the al a carte restaurant but the hotel foyer lunch menu and the bar food at night was spot on.

Used the pool, no complaints there either. The hotel is situated in a great spot. I know the town wel but for anyone that doesn't it's central and near to all main artery routes to other towns. The town centre is only a walk over the road, all shops and amenities close by.

The beautiful palace stables is next door a lovely walk up to it and a great children's play area there too. Would recommend a visit to Armagh cathedral.

My only negative is that the decor of the hotel is tired. It just needs a little updating. It is definitely gettting the revenue as the place is constantly buzzing, so I did wonder if they don't want to lose the income that a staggered refurbishment may involve. i have been going there since it opened and the style and scheme hasn't changed.

One of the main highlights of the trip was the hotel security/door men in the evenings. Neil and Michael, thank you so much. They were really kind and attentive to my 5 year old and had her dancing around with their special pen lights. True professional and great representatives of the hotel. Thank you both so much! Especially the gift of her own pen light she was thrilled!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Lulupinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews