We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“what a disappointment!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malmaison
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“what a disappointment!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

My partner and I thought we would treat ourselves to a bit of luxury and booked a nights stay at malmaison. On the positive side , the rooms were lovely and decor nice. Our room adjoined on to another room where a bloke had 2, not one, prostitutes in his room with him, and we heard absolutely everything! This went one for 2 and a half hours, impressive yeah i know! then when they left he had his tele on at full volume, this went on til after 2am in morning, when we gave up, and checked out and went home. Greatly disappointed in a night we had been looking forward too. I rang the reception twice to complain, and it still just went on. Think when you spend this type of money on a hotel, you expect a bit of privacy and a bit of class, belfast hookers wan't what I had in mind!! Needless to say we won't be back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank llcoolj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    401
    208
    94
    58
See reviews for
86
613
43
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I stayed at the Malmaison in Belfast for one night in Dec with my Fiance. The decor is charming and unique and our room was clean and spacious. I did find the room quite dark however even with all lights turned on so not great for getting ready for a night out. The breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice and the staff were friendly and helpful. Location wise, it was perfect for getting around. I do think maybe it is a little too expensive however as I have stayed in quite a few similiar hotels for alot less, but it was a nice treat! :)

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a bright room if you plan on getting ready for a night out there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msmor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Booked a suite here for a special occasion and was not disappointed. Whilst the price was high it was worth every penny. The rooms were great and decor was and furniture high end.

Had no experience of the food in the hotel so can't comment on that. If you fancy a treat then I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed here for my anniversary!
I had always wanted to stay here as
I loved the gothic decor but I have to admit the reception area is terrible!
2 desks and patchy stained carpet but i didnt let it put me of!

The rooms were nice... not wow but nice and the bed gave me the best nights sleep I've ever had!

I phoned down for a taxi and the receptionist sorted it straightaway. Looking at the menu my partner and I decided to go out for a
meal instead. When we got back we went to the bar for a drink. The bar is cosy and had a great atmosphere and very cool seating. I loved all the little touches of this hotel like the gingerbread biscuit with the lattes and the way they present the bill in a pouch that says 'the damage'.

Next morning we went down for breakfast and the service was lovely.
However the waitress recommended
the 'big mal fry' for a 'big man' for my partner and i had to laugh when it came out... a child could have at 3 of them.
Mine was great... i had always wanted to try waffles and bacon and it came out on a wooden board
with a mini saucepan of syrup. very
good portion and it was lovely but I couldnt eat the whole waffle as it's sickening. The breakfast room is
lovely and cosy!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfsmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

A very mixed review, the high quality of the rooms made a very comfortable stay, the staff where also not to be faulted in their helpfullness. If however you are planning on staying here then PLEASE avoid the restaurant, it is truthfully the most over priced i have ever been in. On the first evening we ordered two of the malmaison burgers which were priced at approx £14.50 each, when these arrived i was astonished to find they were simply a burger and a cup of McDonalds style chips. One of which was inedible as it was cold throughout.
The worst however was breakfast, a traditional fry costs £14.50 and to my disappointment i found this only to consist of 1 sausage, 1 rasher of bacon, one small egg, one piece of black pudding and a half tomato.
Avery over priced restaurant to be avoided at all costs, there are dozens of better and much cheaper places across Belfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Hilton Belfast
#19 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Property: Malmaison
Address: 34-38 Victoria Street, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#20 Family Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing