We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house”
Magnificent Front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Magnificent Front door
Sitting Room showing fireplace with historic oak beam. Large well-equipped kitchen with full laundry facilities.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Magnificent Front door
Sitting Room showing fireplace with historic oak beam.
Large well-equipped kitchen with full laundry facilities.
Dining Area with window commemorating Lilian Bland's first flight.
Lilian Bland Bedroom (upstairs) with direct views over Belfast Lough.  Has ensuite.
Lilian Bland ensuite with luxury powerful shower
Dimity Bedroom (upstairs) overlooking patio.  Has ensuite.
Dimity Ensuite with luxury powerful shower.
Gingham Rose Bedroom (upstairs) with windows on opposite walls getting evening and morning sun.
Gingham Rose Ensuite with large shower cubicle with luxury powerful shower.  Roll top bath
Edwardian Lady Bedroom (downstairs) looking onto south-facing patio garden.
Garden Room with twin beds looking onto south-facing patio garden.
Downstairs (2 steps up) shower room with luxury powerful shower.
Partial view of lough from Lilian Bland 4 Poster Room
View of Coach House Garden
Dining area with window commemorating Lilian Bland's first flight
Outside View of the Coach House
Georgian main residence overlooking Belfast Lough
Front view of The Coach House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joyfarquh...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic house”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Returned yesterday from a 9 day stay at The Coach House- we were there will extended family aged from 11-84 for my nieces wedding. The house was ideal with flexiable accommodation and lots of bathrooms which was ideal especially on the morning of the wedding. The house is equipped to a very high standard and the large open kitchen was ideal for finishing the wedding cake as well as for the hairdresser and make up artist on the morning of the wedding. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and even allowed the bridal party to have photographs taken in their beautiful gardens on the morning of the wedding.. The beds were very comfortable and the owners very accommodation about providing an additional bed to allow the older bridesmaids all to be in the same room. The house was ideally situated for Belfast and also for exploring further afield. My daughter also enjoyed finding about about the history of the house. I would highly recommend this house to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Loved it all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howardini...
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable with everything we needed”
Reviewed 10 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We visited Belfast for a family wedding, and this is our 2nd stay in the Coach House. Plenty of room for extended family to get together, but also to have some down time away from everyone. The new downstairs bathroom for the ground floor twin and double rooms, is really handy and well finished. A problem with the TV was sorted out straight away, not surprisingly "operator error" was at fault :-) A great view from the bedroom overlooking the lough. Whiteabbey is only a 10 minute drive into the city with good local services. Many thanks Rosemary, we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location
Liked least: Neighbour opposite previosuly complained about us parking on the street, not this time round though
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
Many thanks for giving our beautiful Coach House such a magnificent review. It was a pleasure having you and your extended family to stay and we hope that you will return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajay29038...
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great House in superb position”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a lovely house and in a very convenient position for travelling around Northern Ireland and Belfast. The house has everything that you need, lovely comfortable beds, 3 of the bedrooms have an ensuite and the kitchen/dining room is extremely large and roomy. We took our 2 teenage grandchildren and they simply loved the house. There is a lovely patio area where we sat and had breakfast a couple of mornings, when the weather was kind to us. So lovely and peaceful. The beach is only a few minutes stroll away through a private door, quite quaint. Thank you for the lemon drizzle cake, which was scrummy, and being able to make a cup of tea as soon as we got there was brilliant! Would definitely recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our beautiful Coach House after your visit and for all the very complimentary things you said about it. We appreciate this very much as it gives a genuine view of the property for other visitors. We're so pleased that you enjoyed this very special trip with your grandchildren. Again, our thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theis
Kelvedon, Essex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Accommodation that lives up to your expectations”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Having enjoyed a stay last year at the old Rectory, this year we were delighted to be able to book the Coach House from Abbey Self-catering.

Again, we stayed as a party of 6 for two weeks, though this time we had the added benefits of a fifth bedroom. This property now has a downstairs shower room and a very nice room it is too (for those with mobility issues, although this is on the ground floor it is up a few stairs from the main ground floor level).

The rooms were of a high decorative standard, as one would expect from this provider and we had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay at the property. Car parking is in a driveway beside the property and can accommodate two cars, three small cars at a pinch.

There is a lovely garden and patio area for the exclusive use of this property but unfortunately the Northern Irish weather conspired to prevent us for using it. We hope to rectify this on a future visit. Which means, yes, we plan to stay at this property again.

As experienced last year, we cannot complement enough the assistance provided by the owners, should this be required, and the peace to get on with one's holiday afforded by them when there is no need to call upon them.

The property is a short drive from the Belfast ferry terminals and it is an excellent starting point to travel to any location in Northern Ireland. It has a range of facilities nearby - shops, restaurants, coastal walk/cycle path, parks, playground and open air exercise equipment.

Tempted to say we would not recommend the property to a friend (only to ensure is is available when we next wish to stay there) but in all honesty I couldn't, I can recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is somewhere one can feel at home when on holiday.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the holiday
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
We were delighted to have you and your family back to stay with us and greatly appreciate you giving The Coach House such an excellent review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay and are planning another visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vbowen1
Arnaudville, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Charming House”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a charming house with wonderful views of the water and a lovely garden. It is within easy walking distance to the small town of Whiteabbey for restaurants, the grocery, etc. and a short taxi or bus ride into Belfast. Rosemary and Abigail were great to work with and most accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Beautiful views of the water
Liked least: Dryer took forever to dry the clothes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2015
We're so pleased that you decided to spend a few extra days in Ireland and visit us here in the North and we really appreciate your taking the time to write about your stay in The Coach House and giving us such a good review. I shall look into the matter of the dryer as I hadn't realised that it was giving trouble.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing