We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”
Review of Ten Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ten Square
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Our first experience when arriving at Ten Square set the tone for our 2-day Belfast visit. We were greeted with a friendly smile at the front desk and prompt service by the bellman, Kevin, who also handled our valet parking service. Our room was very comfortable with all amenities we expect from a fine hotel. Breakfast was served in Jospers restaurant and was very fulfilling. The service was impeccable. We opted for dinner at the hotel both nights, once at Jospers Steakhouse and once at the Linen Bar, a more informal experience. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shorepapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

We were bought a night in Ten Square as a wedding anniversary present by a family member who booked and pre-paid online, however when we arrived on Saturday evening to check in my wife was told told flatly "your card was declined" by the girl on the front desk, there was no apology given, we said there must be a mistake as the card shouldn't have declined but they refused to put it through again.

The bluntness and attitude of the staff was so bad I said we would rather not say and asked to confirm that no payment had been taken, I was told it hadn't and we left.

As we were putting our cases back into the car a member of staff came running down the street to say, miraculously the card had now gone through, I said I hadn't authorised them to try the card again after we had left and that i wanted the payment refunded so we went back inside.

What followed was 10 minutes of the worst, most offensive, dismissive and downright appalling customer service I have ever experienced!

To summarise we were told "it was our fault" on a number of occasions, that the room "had to be paid for" even if we didn't stay, and a refund was flatly refused. The attitude of the man behind the desk who claimed to be a Duty manager was so aggressive that we became quite frustrated, I asked him on a number of occasions to speak to the manager to deescalate things and calm down, he simply shouted over me and told me we had to leave.

I must admit at this point things were getting heated and voices were being raised as frustration started to boil over

In his attempts to further enrage us he told my wife to "wind her neck in", "check your attitude" and in a unbelievable moment he snatched her mobile phone out of her hands as he felt she was recording him and refused to give it back, he then called in 4 bouncers in an attempt to intimidate us into leaving even though at this point the only one who was being aggressive was him!

We agreed to leave once we were assured by another man claiming to be a manager (although I doubted that) that the money would be refunded.

Fortuitously we bumped into the actual manager outside on his way back from a wedding reception, to his credit he was very calm, apologetic and seemed shocked by what we were telling him had happened. He said he wished they would have called him down ( we had asked on a number of occasions) He assured us he would speak to all the staff members involved and would process a refund.

I can honestly say I've been fortunate to say in many hotels around the world and this is the worst case of customer service I have ever experienced, the staff members involved should be ashamed of their conduct

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
15  Thank neillfergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

The hotel is centrally located in Belfast. It is situated across the city hall and close to stores, banks and restaurants. We were there for five days. The rooms are a bit dark but clean. Being an American, I prepared myself for a tiny hotel room with a small bed, but I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. The bed was low to the ground but extremely comfortable. We were there during a cold and rainy time, so it was nice to have heated pipes to warm up your towels to use after your showers. Downstairs, the cafe had tea and other drinks available all day for a reasonable price. Our room came with breakfast, which I totally recommend. It is a huge Irish breakfast with all the fixings! I enjoyed the hotel very much for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvrockymts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Had a great 4 night stay at Ten Square for our wedding anniversary from the time we arrived to the time we left we were greeted
by Patsy our lovely and friendly concierge who was very informative our room was beautiful and the bed was so comfy with fab pillows and cosy duvet, lovely large bathroom loved the lounge bar had a great atmosphere in the evenings with friendly bar staff great breakfasts plenty on offer for all tastes and had a lovely meal in Jospers on our first night what more can I say apart from we will definitely go back to Belfast and Ten Square will be where we will stay

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We found this hotel excellent in all respects. Friendly and helpful staff with good knowledge of the area, well furnished room with good quality fittings and a large very comfortable bed. Great central and scenic location behind the City Hall. We couldn't have found a better base for exploring Belfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out on the City Hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fairhead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#27 of 45 in Belfast
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 45 in Belfast
3,204 reviews
Hilton Belfast
#20 of 45 in Belfast
3,038 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#12 of 45 in Belfast
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Square

Address: 10 Donegall Square South, Belfast BT1 5JD, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#8 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#17 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: €125 - €223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Square 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Belfast hotel is located just steps from the historic City Hall, Waterfront Hall, the business district and the Victoria Square shopping mecca, and offers a variety of award-winning luxury hotel rooms as well as The Grill Room Restaurant & Bar - one of Belfast's most popular meeting and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ten Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Square
Ten Square Belfast
Ten Square Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing