We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good barfood - fast and efficient service”
Review of Cables Bar

Cables Bar
Ranked #483 of 1,173 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: International
Neighbourhood: Golden Mile
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Golden Mile
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We visited before an event in the SSE Arena - we were guests at the hotel

both took the haddock and chips and it was exceptionally good - dry crisp fish, perfectly cooked chips and mushy peas and tartar sauce was exactly the right stomach lining before inserting a few beers at the concert

the Pizzas looked great as did the burgers - place is quite small so either book or arrive early to ensure a table when the hotel is busy

They also do a £6.50 lunch which looked good though we didn't get to try it

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trevorpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Cables Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear trevorpatt

Thank you for sharing a review following your recent stay with us to attend an event at SSE Arena.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal in our cables bar. Our Head Chef and his team work hard to ensure our guests have a great dining experience and I am so pleased your meal was 'exceptionally good.'

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Mark Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2018

We ate here out of convenience on our first night at the Hilton after arriving from the airport. It was a good choice as the food was good - we both had burgers, which were nice - and the prices for food and drink were reasonable for a hotel of this standard.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Cables Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear George M

Thank you for sharing a review following your visit to our Cables bar. I am so pleased to read that you felt there was plenty of options on our menu and you enjoyed your dining experience.

We hope we can welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Mark Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

My brother and I called in to this "hotel" bar after an evening out at a show (next door in the Waterfront hall). for a couple of drinks.
Compact to say the least. We had been lucky to have got a table for 2 prior to the influx of people coming in from the show.
It took time to be served and of course having to squeeze past people whilst carrying drinks was awkward in such a confined space.
The décor was agreeable but the layout needs to be re-jigged to enable / accommodate the influx of people wishing to avail of this "hotel" bar.
All in all it is what it is.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Cables Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear William G

Thank you for sharing a review following your recent visit to our hotel after attending a show in the Waterfront Hall.

I am sorry you were unhappy with your experience in our bar. Our Cables bar can get quite busy and our Food and Beverage team work hard to ensure this does not impact on the quality of service we offer our guests.

Once again I would like to thank you for your time and we hope to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Mark Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We visited Cables Bar on Saturday 21 October before the Ulster Orchestra event in the Waterfront. We had tried to book in advance but all they could offer was the Pre Theatre Menu in the Sonoma Restaurant in the Hilton and we only wanted a bar snack. We turned up for about 1830 and had no problem getting a table for two, that is when we eventually tracked down a member of staff to ask! As my other half was driving I opted for a G&T, though was shocked to find that they only serve about five gins! Things are bad when in this day and age the most exciting gin you can get is Bombay Sapphire!! Why not promote a much fuller range including all our wonderful local gins! Where was the delicious Copeland! No such problem the previous Saturday in The Ivory! We both had Paninis which were absolutely fine and served promptly. Perhaps the bar could go a bit more upmarket with the ketchup - the plastic Heinz bottle slapped down on the table is a bit poor. The black pepper mill proved a mystery. We were pointed to the low quality salt and pepper shakers on the table and had to get a Manager to find an actual black pepper grinder. It was magically produced from a cupboard!!!! Bit of a cheek charging a service charge for two. Wouldn't rush back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WendyR390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Cables Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear WendyR390

Thank you for sharing a review following your recent visit to our Cables bar in Hilton Belfast.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the gins we serve in our bar. We currently provide eight gins for our guests and we are adding an additional three in the coming weeks to include locals gins. I would a like to thank you for your feedback as it is only through feedback such as yours that we can improve on our guest experience.

We hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Visited the cable bar on 14 October for a meal before going to a show. Service was very good. Food was bland (chicken, sweet chilli mayo, cheese panini), wine per glass an extortionate £12.45 per glass. They also had the nerve to add a service charge for 2 people. I will definitely NOT be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Holywoodgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, General Manager at Cables Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Holywoodgran

Thank you for sharing a review following your recent visit to our Cables Bar.

I am sorry your dining experience was not as it should have been and you did not enjoy your meal. Had our team been made aware we would have happily arranged for another meal to be prepared for you. I will ensure your review is forwarded to our Head Chef to discuss with his team.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Mark Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cables Bar also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Cables Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing