We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (888)
Filter reviews
888 results
Traveller rating
292
234
184
97
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
234
184
97
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queens university malone road city centre lounge area ulster museum botanic gardens great night from start to finish wellies conference wedding disco stephen foyer pubs ireland
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 888 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Emailed the hotel a few days ago to say I would be arriving early and was it possible to get an early check in. I was told they couldn't guarantee it but it should not be a problem. When I arrived around an hour and a half before normal check in, the receptionist told me there was no rooms available but she didn't even check to see. She said take a seat in the bar and one night come available soon. Slightly annoyed with her attitude I said ok and went to sit in the bar. I was in the bar no more than ten minutes when I noticed several people arriving and been checked in and going up to there rooms. At this point I had bought a drink so I finished my drink and headed to reception to check in. When I approached the receptionist she was talking to another staff member and took a minute to finish her conversation before talking to me. At this stage it was 30 minutes to check in. I asked was there a room available. She said she would check and asked the other staff member (who looked like a cleaner) was my room number ready to which the cleaner responded to with "yes it's ready sure it was empty last night so didn't need cleaning" at this point the receptionist tried to ignore the cleaner and said she would radio up to check. I finally got to check in ten minutes before the normal check in time. Fairly annoyed I went to my room. A quick look around the room showed more disappointment. The room was in need of some work. The bath was damaged at some point and very badly repaired. The toilet paper holder was empty. The shower when turned to max heat was still cold. There was no hotel brochure with any information. I went down a while later to eat and say at a table. There was three servers standing behind the bar chatting totally ignoring me I had to get up and ask for a menu which was just handed to me without saying anything. The servers continued there chat and I sat back down to pick my order. After a while of been ignored I stood up to walk over to order when a waitress noticed and walked over to my table. I ordered my food and when I eventually got it that was the last time anyone came near me. Overall the hotel needs a massive refurbishment, carpets we're tatty walls need painting and staff need to learn good customer service. Breakfast was worse than dinner service. The last insult was been charged five pounds on check out for parking my car on hotel grounds. This was the worse hotel I have stayed in anywhere around the world

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
6  Thank thomas e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

It's a decent hotel. About 15 minute walk to Downtown Belfast. Would stay again but didn't necessarily love the rooms or the service or the decor. Worth it for the price though. Had a delicious meal down the road at Holohan's.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arh430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Nothing to complain about - you get everything you would expect. A comfortable room and friendly staff but nothing special. Tea & coffee making - but no biscuits or hit chocolate, and no mini bar or fridge. Breakfast was very good but an extra £10 and room had already cost nearly £100. And one small bottle of fizzy water from the bar was a ridiculous price!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank Crustyoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

I stayed at the Wellington Park when over in Belfast on business. The hotel is on Malone Road and across the street from Queens University. Having flown in to Belfast I was dropped off by taxi in the small car park at the front of the hotel
Reception was very quick and the receptionist was friendly and cheerful.
My room was on the second floor with a view over the car park at the rear of the hotel. The room was compact with two single beds that seemed very small when compared to the usual double or king sized bed. There was a small work area with plenty of sockets to charge computer, phone etc.
The room was clean and bright with the usual tea and coffee tray, and biscuits.
The free WiFi was good and more than adequate for downloading emails and browsing the internet.
The single beds were very firm with a not overly generous duvet cover. As it was very warm weather during my stay this was not an issue but on a cooler winter night I would like something more encompassing to snuggle under.
The bathroom was clean with a large walk in shower. There was a good supply of toiletries which were replenished on a daily basis.
I ate in the bar area one evening. Once seated menus were brought and a drinks order taken Drinks were served immediately and the Tennents lager was superb, excellently chilled and well maintained.
The set menu offered a good range of dishes at very reasonable prices. Perhaps everything just seems more reasonable when you are used to South East prices.
My meal was served quickly with large side dishes of vegetables and potatoes. When all was considered the portion size was enormous and would defeat the largest of appetites. The meal was excellent and very good value
I had breakfast on both mornings of my stay. The buffet offered a range of cereals in individual packets and a good range of juices, fruit and yogurt. Toast was self service from the usual continuous feed toaster which actually produced a reasonably crisp and golden product. Tea and coffee was served at the table
Staff for both meals were friendly and attentive without being intrusive.
Would I stay again? The hotel was very good apart from the small single bed and I would book a double room for single occupancy as the cramped bed spoiled an otherwise very good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Achnacloich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for work trip, I needed somewhere to sleep that was clean, quiet and staff that were helpful
This hotel ticked all the boxes
The staff on reception were very helpful at all times and there is a good buffet breakfast served hot and fresh

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank MartinaD95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews