We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is THE place to be lodged in Belfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belfast City Backpacker Hostel
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is THE place to be lodged in Belfast”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Not only 10 minutes walk from city centre but also clean and with brand new amenities. It's got even a football table and computers. Best of all the manager: he just so kind and helpful. He can arrange anything you need and can give you useful tips about visits in and around Belfast as well as about the city's nightlife and interesting events. It's just inexpensive top quality for a hostel. A must to stay at if you ever visit Belfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patxi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    13
    10
    5
    11
See reviews for
1
26
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I stayed in this hostel six day whit my friends and as I've never stayed in one before, at first I had my doubts. However, when we arrived there I was really impressed. Everything was so clean and enterteining and you had the independence you can have in your own house. What's more, the staff, in our case, John was so kind and caring. The accomodation they offeris excellent: the rooms were clean and they have enough space for everybody depite being a large group, the kitchen provided everything and having things for breakfast in the morning like bread, tea, coffe, etc. was fantastic. The location was also excellent because it isn't too far from the city center and there is a bus stop very near where you can catch a bus every 10 minutes, very practical. I just can say that is a great place to have a great time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obsi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Traveling as a pair of 19 year old girls can be daunting, but we have never felt safer or more comfortable at a hostel as we did at city backpacker. Not only are the rooms clean, warm and beds comfortable, the entire hostel has a vibe just like home. John, the manager, was absolutely lovely, and very helpful. Despite the 15 minute walk into town, the hostel is actually in a prime location for travellers our age as it is right in the student district near the university, meaning plenty of pubs for us to hang out at! We only stayed 2 nights at this hostel, but they were definitely good ones, and despite the 10am checkout, John was more than happy for us to leave our bags in the back room of the hostel for the day and come back and use the kitchen facilities before our departure late that afternoon. A wonderful stay and fabulous hospitality, would definitely stay again. Thankyou John!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Only found out recently about this place and it lived up to its name. Great place, very clean, chill out area, comfy beds, good showers and then toast or cereal and tea or coffee in the morning. Only a 15 min dander from city centre or just hop on a bus. Parking to the rear or on street parking. What more do you want?? Will definitely be back and would encourage others to try it out. Thanks to John for his hospitality!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisgDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Was never one for hostels but to be honest this is a hostel only in name, cleanliness second to none, very modern and well maintained throughout, beds and rooms are very comfortable with all the needs, internet, TV, lovely kitchen & chill out area... location is brilliant, convenient to city centre and all major sites & sounds of belfast... I had to leave early the next morning (6:30am) and John (The Manager) was only too happy to get up that bit earlier and have the breakfast ready... just go stay, simple as that...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbg816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Stranmillis
Queen's Elms
Queen's Elms
#35 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Arnie's Backpackers
#17 of 30 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Queen's Quarter
Lagan Backpackers
Lagan Backpackers
#9 of 30 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Queen's Quarter
Paddy's Palace Belfast
Paddy's Palace Belfast
#23 of 30 in Belfast
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Queen's Quarter
Pearl Court Guesthouse
Pearl Court Guesthouse
#16 of 48 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast City Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast City Backpacker Hostel

Property: Belfast City Backpacker Hostel
Address: 53-55 Malone Avenue, Belfast BT9 6EP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Belfast City Backpacker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Belfast City Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing