We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Political Tour-Conflicting Stories
Save
  
Ways to Experience Political Tour-Conflicting Stories
from US$68.95
More Info
from US$31.72
More Info
from US$51.71
More Info
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
338
31
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
338
31
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peace wall northern ireland an eye opener loyalist communities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2019

An excellent tour- would highly recommend! The tour was recommended to us over the Black Cab tour to provide more of a balanced account by a walking tour guide in Dublin and it was excellent advice! Our nationalist guide Paul was incredibly down to earth and humble in his approach to outlining the struggles of the past. It was harrowing to hear his accounts of family members and friends lost to the violence, and of his time in prison. My partner and I finished that part of the tour wondering how we could possibly empathise with the alternate perspective, but meeting our Loyalist guide Mark provided an entirely new experience which enriched our understanding of the area and the heartbreak deeply entrenched in each side that make moving forward so difficult. Hearing the passionate accounts of both guides gave us so much more understanding of why Belfast remains as segregated as it does. Highly recommend it! And thanks to Paul and Mark!

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2019

We had this tour as part of a larger bus tour around several cities. Our 2 guides were both named Robert. Both were excellent and informative, and their own personal experience with the Troubles served as a direct and intense reminder of the difficult history of this area. One had been jailed and knew Bobby Sands and the other hunger strikers of 1981. One had experienced personal tragedy in the bombings. Both explained the complexity of the situation from their point of view and made us realize that being born into a certain family, religion, location, etc. can directly affect one's politics, sense of desparation, and civil rights. Lots to think about, and more to come with the upcoming possibility of changes related to Brexit.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank 461maryannec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2019

This tour is a bit lengthy, but the amount of time is necessary to just scratch the surface of the decades of conflict in the area. The guides tell personal stories of their own experiences during the Troubles, and the headsets are great for hearing them along the busy streets of Belfast. You'll see lots of murals, walk through the gates that still separate the two communities to this day, and see that the memories of what happened are still very much alive here. If you're interested in the Troubles and Ireland's history, then this tour is an absolute must.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank katieg4704
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2019 via mobile

Was a great tour very informative and to hear both of the story really helped understand what happened and what is going on. From someone who didn’t have much of an idea. Bother guides where great guys and was a great day even tho it rained most of the time haha

3  Thank 143charlesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2019 via mobile

Outstandingly informative. I learnt so much from Robert and Mark explaining the troubles and the continuing segregation. May their good work continue so both sides of the conflict will eventually live harmoniously together. Thank you both so much.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank jennyslaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews