We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Needs to try harder” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dragon Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Swansea
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Needs to try harder”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The location of the Dragon is excellent, sadly the car park is too small, meaning you have to be early to get a space if busy. The rooms are not four star I'm afraid- a little shabby with badly glazed windows (on the street front) completely covered in condesation so you can't see out, but the sound comes through- it is noisy obviously at weekends. Windows had sooty mould.
Beds are not good- the one criteria of a hotel is a good night's sleep- they need replacing, and are too small. Doubles are singles joined together. Pillows dreadful. Like bricks. I looked inside the pillowcase to discover the words "Holiday Inn. Firm". On asking I was told told there were no others. No heating in room- I asked about fixing it each day during the three days but sadly cold air blew in.
Reception staff were curt and in some cases very curt. A lack of training in that department and in the barstaff. Loud personal conversations carried on. Saturday night Hotel had a large number of "lads" in who ran around the foyer in their underpants en route for the spa pool. They also ran around the corridors all night banging on each others doors. Staff did attempt to keep the peace.
Overall, this hotel needs to buck its ideas up, or lose trade to the other four star hotels in the locale.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    316
    207
    71
    30
See reviews for
122
261
32
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed one night. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room average.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetersfieldM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Looks a little tired in in places. Fine though for bed and a very good breakfast. Very welcoming, friendly staff. Car park a bit of a lottery!

Helpful?
2 Thank DiNiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I could not make it due to I'll health they charged me full price on room My friend brought bill back for me to pay his stay was great

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Goods:
Staff very welcoming and friendly, reception was great.
Maître d' especially chatty at dinner and breakfast, hats off as he never seemed to stop working!
Views from our side of hotel great
Location perfect for City activity and in reach of Gower by car or bus.
Room shower and free suds good
Room upgraded to two roomed suite, thanks for that! With bubbly and chocs as part of the deal, nice touch!
Spa great, did the job, again staff uber-friendly and smiley. Just what you need.


Bads: (here to help the hotel improve to 5star reviews!):
Had to ask cleaners to tidy room etc. They said they were just finishing for the day, even though we had been out all day until 4pm sightseeing.
Then told to call housekeeping after 6 for the evening shift. Did so, they sounded a bit shocked, but said it would be done while we were out for dinner. Not done when we came back at 10pm! A little glitch and we survived, but thats what you pay for at hotels, isn't it?

Uglys (here for a moan):
Windows need re-sealing, very loud traffic on our side of hotel as it is the main club street. And at 6.30am on the Saturday, we could hear a drilling sound across town, which continued until 8am. Someone was keen! Earplugs solved it, but again, resealing would do the trick!

Greats:
Had a great Chinese at Wild Swan restaurant, literally across the road, so if I make this a double review for them and the hotel, would be happy to get a free night at hotel and a free chinese back there!
Food at Dragon Brasserie smashing too, where we ate on the first night.

All in all would definitely go back. Thanks for a good stay.

Room Tip: Look at website for deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLittlestHoboUK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.9 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.4 km away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#15 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
1.5 km away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.4 km away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Property: The Dragon Hotel
Address: 39 The Kingsway, Swansea SA1 5LS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dragon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dragon Hotel is one of Swansea's premier 4-star hotels and is located in the heart of the city centre, offering guests excellent hotel accommodation, a variety of dining options, Conference & Banqueting facilities, a Health Club and chargable on-site parking. The hotel has 106 en-suite, fully air-conditioned bedrooms and features high-speed Wi-Fi internet access and flat screen digital TVs. The Health Club features an 18-metre indoor swimming pool, male and female saunas, a well equiped gymnasium with qualified personnel on hand and two treatment rooms, offering Holistic and Sports Massage Therapy, as well as an extensive choice of beauty treatments. The Piano restaurant, situated on the first floor is open for dinner every evening and offers excellent AA rosette standard food, with panoramic views across the town. Our Brasserie Cafe Bar located at the front of the hotel is open all day, offering an informal destination for breakfast, lunch, light meals and hot & cold drinks. An ideal venue for that special event or conference, the hotel can accommodate upto 200 guests in the Pembrey Suite. The Dragon Hotel has long been a Swansea landmark and is within walking distance of many local attractions, such as the beach, marina, shops, theatre, restaurants, and vibrant night-life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Swansea
The Dragon Hotel Swansea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing