We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy and convenient”
Review of Tanes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tanes Hotel
Ranked #35 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2017

great little hotel, friendly hosts. ideal for me seeing a group (Ruts DC) in a club (The Globe) 10mins walk away. right on a bus route so easy to get to centre of wherever. comfortable bed (room5) overlooking Newport Road but no traffic noise to speak of and got god nights sleep. Owners obviously take pride in the hotel and it shows with decor, furniture, crockery etc. Decent full english for £5 started the day off well for me. Private, secure free parking to rear of hotel a bonus. Overall great place to stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gavin1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017

Although our room was on the main road, the windows let in no noise and we slept very well. The family (including the dog!) was very friendly and helpful and our breakfast was very good with very pleasant service. The hotel is a short walk to the centre of Cardiff and has safe parking in the backyard. Very recommendable - thanks a lot for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank helenmB368EG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Usually I take my lumps when travelling but this hotel room was far smaller than pictured, the carpets were old and gritty, and the whole place smelled so strongly of cleaner that my mom and I had to change hotels as we both became allergic. The employees were lovely and sympathetic but management needs to renovate- this place was like a bad motel from the 70s.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

The first thing when I got there I was asked for my ID to be photocopied, which is ok, so I follow the guy and a rude lady was in the dinning room yelled at me to wait outside. The rooms are tiny and the bathroom is shared. If you have a big suitcase the room won’t suffice. There is literally no room that room

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Khaled A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We got a big room that was very clean, and had all the things you need. The staff and the owners were very kind and helpful. We had a nice breakfast in the dining room, which was very cozy with old books and furniture. Overall a very nice stay, and really worth the money spent!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sirikatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
5.9 km away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 74 in Cardiff
598 reviews
4.5 km away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#57 of 74 in Cardiff
288 reviews
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
2.8 km away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
8.5 km away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanes Hotel

Address: 148 Newport Road | Roath, Cardiff CF24 1DJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: €59 - €358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel operating in Cardiff for over 30 years. We pride ourselves on our welcome, quality and comfort. We have 21 bedrooms, a mixture of singles, doubles, twins and triples, some en-suite. All rooms are well furnished and centrally heated, they all have colour televisions, washbasins and tea and coffee making facilities. We have a lounge room and dining room for use by our guests, and ground floor rooms available for easy access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tanes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanes Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing