We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for a conference but it felt like a holiday!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
Ranked #32 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Stayed two nights at beginning of October for a conference held in the hotel. The location is great, being just off the M4, however not a hotel if you are into views, as there aren't any!
Friendly staff (aren't all Welsh people though!), room was ideal and comfortable however a little bit chilly and the heating / air con difficult to work, instructions not much help. The shower was lovely. We used the swimming pool which was OK, not for any Olympic swimmers though as can't really swim lengths. The sauna and steam rooms are nice, the spa pool made our eyes sting when the bubbles were working - maybe too much chlorine in there?
Breakfast was lush (Welsh language rubbing off!). Without any other establishments nearby we decided to eat in for our evening meal, the menu was extensive, a bit expensive but to be expected at a hotel.
The conference facilities were a good standard. The chocolate cookies were amazing!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SJPep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear SJPep,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found generally all the facilities to be of a high standard. I have noted your constructive comments and shared them with the team for review.

I do hope your conference went well and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should there be a need in the future.

Best Wishes
Laura Wiltshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Staff at this hotel were so Lovely, they went out of their way to resolve a minor issue for us, our evening meal was delicious our breakfast was delicious the rooms were very clean as were the bathrooms, beds were comfy we slept very well.
Overall a great stay and wud definitely return

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Nicola C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and the team looked after you resolving your issue at dinner. I am pleased the facilities and breakfast were of a good standard and do hope you will return to the hotel in the future.

Best Wishes
Laura Wiltshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

An uninspiring building but the warmth and friendliness of the staff go so far to improve the atmosphere. The reception staff and the breakfast staff were exemplary! Nothing too much trouble :) Didn't know tea and coffee things in a cupboard for example :)

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Liz L,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding the building the design and decor are continually looked at so your comments will be passed on. I am pleased however that the team compensate in your opinion and you were looked after by all departments you encountered.

Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Kind Regards
Laura Wiltshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Apart from the wonderful welcome from Molly, my stay at the Holiday Inn Stonehenge was decidedly poor.

The bar and dining area are too bright. The evening menu is expensive and poor and the breakfast was abysmal. There was no fresh fruit of any description, no pastries, no yogurts or anything other than hot food. After asking and waiting for ten minutes I gave up.

There was a condom wrapper under my bed (not mine I might add) and overall it was an un-pleasurable experience which I wont repeat.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BigJDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear D M,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at a recent Holiday Inn.

I am disappointed that your stay was not memorable for the right reasons, I would like to clarify if your stay was at Stonehenge or Cardiff North as you have commented on Holiday Inn Cardiff North but stated Stonehenge.

Please do contact me direct at gm.hicardiffnorthm4@kewgreen.co.uk and I will most certainly look into this matter further.

I look forward to hearing from you
Kind Regards
Laura Wiltshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Reception welcoming and cheerful. Room reasonable size - one easy chair, one desk chair, king sized bed and wardrobe.. Bathroom reasonable size, with walk in shower, sop provided, but no other toiletries, just dispensers on the wall.
First night we ate in the restaurant - good choice of menu and generous portions. Staff attentive and cheerful.
Breakfast on first morning was a bit of a let down - not much fruit, only plain yoghurt in pots, hot plate almost exhausted, no tea spoons, and not offered a second cup of coffee.
Dinner on second night. Waited nearly 3/4 hour for our order to come to the table. The food was good, but the situation was not handled well. Explanation that room service had taken too much of the chef's time was not good enough.
Breakfast on second and third mornings was much better, the staff were more attentive, and there was more of everything except bread.
Dinner on our third night was as good as the first, and the staff apologised for the inordinate wait we had had the previous night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Richard T,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that the facilities and service were generally good but am disappointed to learn that there were inconsistencies throughout your stay. Rest assured these have been discussed with the relevant departments and necessary action take where required.

I do hope that this did not mar your stay with us too much and am pleased that you found the food to be of a good standard and service generally attentive.

I do hope you will return to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Laura Wiltshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 km away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
2,809 reviews
6.9 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
7.4 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
7.5 km away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
8.9 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32

Address: Cardiff North M4 JCT Holiday Inn 32 Merthyr Road, Cardiff CF15 7LH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: €66 - €250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff North M4/J32 hotel, is the perfect home for business or leisure. Enjoy your comfortable guest bedroom, relax in our Health Central Fitness & Health Club, unwind in our lounge or bar area with a snack and drink, and enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant. Whether you are visiting for business or leisure - Holiday Inn Cardiff North M4/J32 is the perfect base! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32 Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing