We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese Pantry @ Cardiff Indoor Market”
Review of Penylan Pantry

Penylan Pantry
Ranked #194 of 1,391 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: An independent Deli and Cafe serving up homemade food in the heart of the community. We are a sustainable cafe
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Just to be clear, we visited Penylan's subsidiary location which is under the 'Cheese Pantry' banner located in the Cardiff Indoor Market.

Exploring central Cardiff we luckily stumbled upon the indoor market and the Cheese Pantry. They stock a good range of cheeses across many categories and we left with a few different varieties. I shouldn't admit we ate the whole wedge of a sheep milks cheddar in the hotel room that afternoon!

We were served by a friendly and knowledgeable bloke called Owen, who was more than happy to oblige with providing tastes of quite a few of the different cheeses before we settled on the three that we eventually bought. He was helpful in guiding us towards certain suggestions based on our tastes, he certainly knows the range.

If you like cheese, do yourself a favour and pop in for a wedge or two of some fine artisan cheeses.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaPantry, Owner at Penylan Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Hello :-)

Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review of the Cheese Pantry.

All the best
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2016

Great place to meet friends and have an unusual breakfast.
Loads to buy, chutneys, jams, fruit, bread.

Thank 8lucy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaPantry, Owner at Penylan Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Hello :-)

Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review of the Pantry.

All the best
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

The first thing to decide is what to eat! Delicious warming soup with crusty bread? Glamorgan roll? Sexy salad? No, vegetable pantry board. So tasty and filling, the star being my favourite veg - artichokes. Healthy green drink to accompany it. Them browsed the deli buying a crusty sour dough bread, cheese and pickles to take home. Great service too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RoyalLady9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaPantry, Owner at Penylan Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Hello :-)

Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review of the Pantry.

All the best
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

I was very happy with my crushed avocado on sour dough toast topped with pink pepper corns. Well thought out food! Good coffee and friendly atmosphere, I'll defo be coming again!

Thank 309kirstyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaPantry, Owner at Penylan Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Hello :-)

Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review of the Pantry.

All the best
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Nearly drove past this place on the way to another tea room. We stopped as we fancied trying somewhere new and it looked nice from the outside.

Busy inside but managed to get a table. We ordered the cheese brioche croissant, 2 slices of cake and 2 cappuccinos, came to about £15.50. All delicious but would have been nice if we had the coffees 1st, croissant 2nd and cake 3rd. However we had cake, then a wait, then coffee and then another wait for the croissant. Didn't really mind as not in a rush but would have been nice to have coffee 1st.

Would highly recommend the cheese brioche croissant, so tasty! Glad I shared with my Mother in Law as I don't think I could eat a whole one!

Will deffo be back again very soon. Yes it's not cheap but fantastic quality and something different. Will give breakfast a try next.

Thank helgarbabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaPantry, Owner at Penylan Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Hello :-)

Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review of the Pantry.

All the best
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penylan Pantry also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Penylan Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing