We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't complain!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff
Ranked #38 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on a shopping trip to Cardiff.
It's advertised as a budget hotel, we paid £30 per person, per night.
We were checked in by helpful and friendly staff.
The room was fairly big and clean with a large bathroom that to be fair was looking a little tired!
There was ample tea and coffee in the room, and a big tv on the wall.
The heating didn't kick in until about 6pm which could be an issue as it was fairly cold.
There is car parking at the rear which is locked between 2300-0700. There seemed to be room to park on the street also.
Continental breakfast was included in the price, this consisted of cereal, croissants, pain au chocolat, toast, fruit, cheese, ham and plenty of fruit. It was all fresh and well set out. Tea, coffee and fruit juices were available. If you wanted to, you could pay for a cooked breakfast. I have no idea how much these are as we never felt the need to order any, the continental breakfast was more than enough for us. The pub offers food and we ate there both evenings. The food was very good and reasonably priced.
All in all, for what we paid, we feel we got very good value for money.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Hello Martin H, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! We really appreciate your positive review and hope that you return to Cardiff and stay with us again in the future!

Thank you again for taking the time to write us a review.

Kind regards

Kate and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2017

We have just spent two nights at this hotel and it was a very positive experience. This is a rambling old building and the passages were a bit tired. However we were really impressed with our bedroom which had modern decor and was spotlessly clean as was the spacious bathroom. The staff were really friendly, especially the guy with the ponytail who came to our room twice during our stay to make sure that we were warm enough as the weather was bitterly cold. The continental breakfast was adequate but there was also the option to buy reasonably priced hot food if wanted. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank barngatebill123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Barngatebill123, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! we really appreciate your feedback! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope you come to stay again.

Thank you

Kate and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Really dissapointed with my stay here. The room was dirty, stained bed linen, The whole place was boiling to the point of suffocation, they advertise they are a Real Ale Pub but only had one poor choice. They advertise Breakfast free but it's not, you may have a continental Breakfast if your lucky enough to get there before they pack it all away earlier than is advertised, my pattner spoke to a member of staff that basically said it was tough we missed it, there was no offer to get anything for us in replace unless we wanted to pay extra. My partner woke up to a horrendously bad back because of the bed and could hardly walk, he told a member of staff on reception but they really did not seem in the slightest bit interested. The room rate considering there is no propper Breakfast is pricy to say the least! The room staff burst in to our room with no warning. Check out is 12 but they burst in at 9.45!

Would I return?? NO I would not.... I was horrified at the service, Dirty Room and generally poor staff attitude!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Amanda We regret to hear that you had this experience with us.We would like the opportunity to find out how we can better assist you in the future. If you are willing, please contact us 442920343443.

Kind regards

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

not the best place to stay. Above a pub, slightly dated decor and grotty wallpaper, but the parking was secure
Breakfast in the pub was minimal, boring and not much fresh food. Good central location, staff moderately helpful, entrance difficult to find

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katharine54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

We appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night, never again room was warm though breakfast all packed up by 9.30.am on the dot ( our fault times displayed ) advertised free on website but you have to pay for it also rooms dirty blood and stains on bedding

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Huw N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Huw N, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. It is disappointing for us to hear that your experience was anything less than great. Unfortunately we were not made aware of you issues with bedding. Obviously had this been the case we would have changed your room. We do display our breakfast times at several points throughout the hotel and guests are informed at check in. Again had the staff been aware that you were wanting breakfast they would have happily got items for you if it had been taken away. I have spoken to the staff members who worked the morning of your departure, along with staff who worked the evening you arrived and no body was made aware of any issues. If you would like to get in touch to discuss these matters further please call the hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time review your stay.

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 km away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.3 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
963 reviews
4.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
1.6 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 74 in Cardiff
914 reviews
3.1 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff

Address: 75-77 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: €53 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotels in Cardiff, our lodge offers budget accommodation close to the heart of the city. So whether you're here for business or pleasure, you'll be near enough to all the action, yet happily away from the hustle and bustle. The Millennium Stadium is just a 15-minute walk away, as is Cardiff Arms Park, and attractions such as Cardiff Castle and Cardiff Bay are also within easy reach. While you're sightseeing, how about stepping into the future - or the past - by visiting the Dr Who Experience? Of course, you won't need a Tardis to get to us because the M4 is on the doorstep, and excellent rail and plane connections are just a taxi-ride away. As for the lodge itself, our classic Victorian building was once a rich man's townhouse. Today it's anything but expensive to stay here. With a comfy bed and a cool pint or plate of hearty pub-food available in the pub downstairs, you'll find it offers a great-value base for exploring the Welsh capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverley Hotel Cardiff
Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing