We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
80
85
41
24
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
85
41
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooked breakfast pub with rooms city centre off street parking no lift bute park car park family room b and b location is ideal tea and coffee making facilities large bathroom stayed for two nights breakfast was included single room quiet room budget hotel
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Really dissapointed with my stay here. The room was dirty, stained bed linen, The whole place was boiling to the point of suffocation, they advertise they are a Real Ale Pub but only had one poor choice. They advertise Breakfast free but it's not, you may have a continental Breakfast if your lucky enough to get there before they pack it all away earlier than is advertised, my pattner spoke to a member of staff that basically said it was tough we missed it, there was no offer to get anything for us in replace unless we wanted to pay extra. My partner woke up to a horrendously bad back because of the bed and could hardly walk, he told a member of staff on reception but they really did not seem in the slightest bit interested. The room rate considering there is no propper Breakfast is pricy to say the least! The room staff burst in to our room with no warning. Check out is 12 but they burst in at 9.45!

Would I return?? NO I would not.... I was horrified at the service, Dirty Room and generally poor staff attitude!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Amanda We regret to hear that you had this experience with us.We would like the opportunity to find out how we can better assist you in the future. If you are willing, please contact us 442920343443.

Kind regards

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

not the best place to stay. Above a pub, slightly dated decor and grotty wallpaper, but the parking was secure
Breakfast in the pub was minimal, boring and not much fresh food. Good central location, staff moderately helpful, entrance difficult to find

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katharine54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

We appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night, never again room was warm though breakfast all packed up by 9.30.am on the dot ( our fault times displayed ) advertised free on website but you have to pay for it also rooms dirty blood and stains on bedding

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Huw N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Huw N, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. It is disappointing for us to hear that your experience was anything less than great. Unfortunately we were not made aware of you issues with bedding. Obviously had this been the case we would have changed your room. We do display our breakfast times at several points throughout the hotel and guests are informed at check in. Again had the staff been aware that you were wanting breakfast they would have happily got items for you if it had been taken away. I have spoken to the staff members who worked the morning of your departure, along with staff who worked the evening you arrived and no body was made aware of any issues. If you would like to get in touch to discuss these matters further please call the hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time review your stay.

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We stayed for two nights, with another couple. Our rooms was clean and comfortable, however the shower could do with a bit of attention(black in the grout) The breakfast was fine and a cooked breakfast could be had for a small price. The staff were great, the meals in the pub just average, but there was off street parking, which is always a bonus, and a short walk into the city and the Castle, plus a bus stop just up the street.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank daridownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi Daridownunder, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Innkeeper's Lodge Cardiff. We're happy we could meet your expectations!
Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was clean and perfectly adequate. My wife was here for a conference and I was starting a bike trip. Breakfast was included and it was all I needed to set me up for a 70 mile bike ride. Great value.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roland and Wend... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Roland And Wend... C, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations!

Thank you again for leaving us this response!

Kind regards

Kate and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews