We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for CIA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #34 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location for CIA”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Centrally located hotel which was brilliant for our Strictly Come Dancing weekend and close to shops and restaurants. Room was standard with a hot shower and everything seemed clean and what you would expect from a large chain hotel. Just a few picky points in that there was not enough hanging space in the wardrobe with half of it being taken up by an ironing board (nice to have an iron though) and there was obviously a problem with the bathroom of the room directly above as there was some evidence of damp on the walls. It would have been nice to have some coat hooks above the luggage space. Our TV was not tuned in to receive all channels advertised in the room guide but we didn't complain as we were only there one night and most of that was spent out of the room. If we had had kids with us, I would have complained as we couldnt get CBBC :-) Perhaps a check through channels when the room is being cleaned would help so that staff can report problems to maintenance? Pillows were very thin too. The car park is small 15-20 spaces??? and was full on our arrival. We were directed to an alternative for which we were told we would get a discount (only 10% though £18 / night as opposed to £10 at the hotel) Staff gave directions but they were not specific. We were told to turn left at the lights out of the hotel and immediately right then under the bridge. This sounds easy right but what they failed to point out was that as soon as you turn left at the lights you need to cross two lanes of traffic immediately to get into the right turn lane. On a busy Saturday with heavy traffic, this would have prepared us. It would have been helpful if they had produced the plan they gave me when my boyfriend called to say he was lost (unusual for him, being someone who is used to driving in busy cities) and pointed out the directions at the time of check in. I appreciate that they are probaly fed up of repeating themselves but all the same, having battled through heavy traffic and failing to park at the hotel and finding most car parks full, it would have helped us find it. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant as we ate elsewhere earlier in the day and it was closed by the end of the show. On arriving for breakfast the next morning, we were told there were no tables for 2 available but to take a seat and we would be called. No sooner than we sat down, we saw two other couples being shown to a table. We complained and were told that they were not together but had agreed to share a table for 4, we had not been given the option to share. Staff were very apologetic however and we were seated immediately. A member of staff half heartedly mopped at our table with a cloth but left it dirty and asked 'did you want coffee?' I was directed to tea somewhere in the distance. Breakfast was self service although no one told us to help ourselves and I heard the couple behind pondering if they had to wait to be served or help themselves. We prefer self service and it was very good on the whole with plenty of choice allowing you to go back as many times as you like. It didn't cater for veggies though in that while there were two types of sausage on offer, disappointingly there was no veggie sausage. There was a large queue for toast when it may have been better to serve this from the kitchen. On the whole, this is a very conveniently located hotel with all the amenities, not very peaceful given it's central location but this doesn't matter if you are only staying one night for a show or something and why do some people think it is OK to go back to their rooms at 3am and talk at the top of their voices??? I would probably stay again if going to a show at the CIA.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMorteo, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Hi Lesly1. Thanks writing a review, it is always good to get feedback from our guests as it helps us improve our operations going forward. We will definitely take your comments on board and hope that when you return we can exceed your expecations

Many thanks

Marisa Morteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    479
    357
    174
    101
See reviews for
162
531
59
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

What a fantastic hotel, nothing was too much trouble and the location to our venue could not have been any better, Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joylharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMorteo, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Hi Joylharvey. We are so pleased to have exceeded your expectations during your stay at the hotel and very grateful that you have taken the time to write a review too!

Thank you

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

From the minute we stepped in all the hotel staff were brilliant (Both Reception and Dining Staff). Rooms very clean - breakfast excellent. No complaints - very impressed - will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather186230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMorteo, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Hi Heather186230, What can we say other than thank you so much for your comments!
It really has put a big smile on the teams faces reading this review :)


Many thanks again, hopefully see you soon

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglesey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

THe hotel is very central and convenient for shops and restaurants. It has the advantage of having a basement car park, most City centre hotels don't have this in cardiff. They do charge £10 per night but it's cheaper and more convenient than public car parks nearby.
Second time we've stayed here. THe hotel is clean but needs a little tlc in decoration and updating. Staff friendly and room and bathroom fine.
Food a little expensive, particularly a cooked breakfast if you're not on a B&B inclusive package. Only had one meal in the restaurant. Wine was expensive, cheapest white wine was £19.00.
Would use again because of its convenient location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyjAnglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMorteo, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Hi NickyAnglesey. Thanks for taking the time to write your review and coming back to stay with us again. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and wanted to let you know we run lots of different offers within the Restaurant and Bar, hopefully next time we can ensure you can take advantage of them too.

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Went to see family for first time as was nervous booked a hotel quite a way out we saw the park inn as we went shopping we decided to be spontaneous and book a better and closer Boyer and have a rare treat how wrong was we firstly we booked and had to swipe then they wanted another one and at 130.00 it's a lot out of bank so we had to yet transfer more and pay for an expensive call at their expense,we waited 25 miniutes in queue and finally got to room although just leaving enough time to get ready and a handyman for the hotel is laying down in bathroom fixing a sink slightly shocking and that took 15 miniutes and he never fixed anything and we were late for a family meet but then as we came back late that night 2 problems quite a few hairs inside sheets so I'm not sure if it was made but we were so tired being 1am we wiped them off and then although we hadn't used the toilet it was full to brim with excriment and we felt. Sick someone came up to sort it but very rude and as we checked out although very upset we still was not asked if we had a good stay.highly not recommended

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMorteo, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Hi Steven G

Just wanted to acknowledge your review as no complaint was made by you during your stay which is surprising considering the severity of your complaint.

Also, I would like to advise that the room you stayed in was audited that day by our team for training purposes and found to be of a high standard - including the bathroom.

If there is anything you would like to discuss please do not hesitate to contact me

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.4 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.2 km away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre

Property: Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
Address: Mary Ann Street, Cardiff CF10 2JH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in the heart of the city, opposite Cardiff International Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rezidor, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Park Inn Cardiff
Cardiff Park Inn
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Park Inn By Radisson Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing