We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/09/21
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Expedia.comUS$117
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,065)
Filter reviews
1,065 results
Traveller rating
342
441
210
53
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
342
441
210
53
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cardiff bay car park city centre mermaid quay free breakfast quiet location parking charge the sofa bed yogurt min walk short stay member of staff hie receptionist hairdryer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,065 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2021 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at this basic but lovely hotel. Staff were friendly, only criticism was the breakfast, it was awful ! Only choice was unbuttered baps with sausages & rubbery scrambled eggs, you had to ask each time for every item, it felt very uncomfortable, despite this, we would definitely stay again. Hope the breakfast is improved

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank christinejI5779AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Matthews, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2021

Dear christinejl5779AG - Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and lovely comments with regards to the team. We can't wait for restrictions to be eased so that we can get back to our breakfast buffet. At the moment, we're using everything we're allowed to - but as you can imagine it's not easy having to take individual orders. We're really pleased to know that you're planning another visit and hopefully we'll have the buffet available then. Kind Regards - Karen Matthews, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

The location was good expensive car park .second floor room was crumbs on sofa bed I had to wipe off means theres covid not good ,hair on bed and stains in carpet. Too hot no instructions for air con so opened windows the room was then full of flys would not stay again did not sleep at all .

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank littlelisa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Matthews, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2021

Dear littlelisa123 - Many thanks for taking the time to leave us this valuable feedback and I'm sorry that we did not clean the room to the high standard on which we pride ourselves. As part of the IHG Clean Promise, we do on check in let you know that if there are any issues with your room then let us know and these will be addressed or your room changed straight away. Being next to the water does mean that flies can be attracted to lights - again if you had mentioned issues to us we would have happily assisted you at the time. Kind Regards - Karen Matthews, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2021 via mobile

Simply put....the friendliest of staff from front of house right up to Karen the mgr.
Will stop at nothing to make your stay perfect.
5 min walk to all the bars and restaurants in the bay.
Love this hotel.My go to hotel when in Cardiff....oh and the breakfast baps....so lush.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Waynecupra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Matthews, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2021

Dear Waynecupra - Thank you so much for the lovely review! It's great to be able to welcome back familiar faces again and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Wishes - Karen Matthews, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2020 via mobile

Booked a one night stay for myself & daughters to enjoy a shopping trip to Cardiff. Receptionist was friendly & informative when checked in. £10 to park car added to bill spaces limited due to outdoor building work. Hotel set up well for COVID measures, our room was very clean & the sofa bed ready made up & enough towels for us all. Tea/coffee, iron/board & hairdryer in room. Breakfast was included in the price, choice off 4 cereals which were served in the box with a plastic bowl, freshly cooked croissants, yoghurt & fruit, then bacon/sausage/ scrambled egg baps made to order. Tea/coffee & 2 juices also available. You just told the member of staff what you would like & it was put on a tray for you. Will definitely consider staying here again on future trips to Cardiff.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank mbakerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 November 2020 via mobile

Booked in quizzed were we lived what we did for living showed I.D to confirm who we were and then told we cant stay because our surnames are different what difference that makes is beyond me The member of staff was rude obnoxious Then company needs to revaluate there company personnel.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Craftycockney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Matthews, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2020

Dear Craftycockney68 - Thank you for taking time to leave us a review following your recent experience. Due to the current situation with the COVID-19 pandemic we have already had to review our procedures inline with Welsh Government guidance. We have been restricted to only allowing leisure stays from guests within Wales and as such, unless you have been booked in by a company on business from England we cannot accept your booking - as travelling from England should be on an essential basis only and our guidelines tell us that we cannot knowingly accept other bookings. The guidance also clearly tells us that only those from the same household can share a room. The hospitality industry has already been severely affected by the pandemic and we obviously wish things were different, however we all have to do our part - customers and businesses alike - to ensure public safety, which I do hope you will come to appreciate. Kind regards - Karen Matthews, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews