We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
US$129
US$107
View deal
Booking.comUS$124
Expedia.comUS$124
HurbUS$129
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,059)
Filter reviews
1,059 results
Traveller rating
341
439
209
52
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
341
439
209
52
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cardiff bay car park city centre mermaid quay free breakfast quiet location parking charge the sofa bed yogurt min walk short stay member of staff hie receptionist hairdryer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,059 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2020 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. The staff were lovely and helpful.
The hotel is very clean and observing all self
distancing and sanitising rules.
Our room was really nice.
The hotel is within easy walking to Cardiff City and the bay area.
Would certainly stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ju1ez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Matthews, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2020

Dear Ju1ez,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed it and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards - Katy, Senior Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2020 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel several times as our daughter is at Cardiff uni. The location is amazing for both the Bay and Cardiff Central. The hotel has been renovated inside and it looks great. The staff are brilliant and the rooms are always of a high standard. If you are staying here just be aware of a couple of things.

Rooms - you need to let reception know if you want someone to clean/service your room. Unfortunately we were not told this on check-in but it was easily sorted

Renovation - as mentioned in other reviews there's extensive renovation work being carried out with the hotel being extended. This doesn't really affect the inside now but if you have a room facing the carpark and don't have your windows closed you will hear the works and deliveries (this was sometimes very early in the morning 6:30am on one day!)

Car park - the charge for the carpark has gone up to £10 (from £6) a day. This is charged to your card on arrival. I appreciate this charge has stayed the same for a while but because of the work the size of the carpark has reduced significantly making it hard to find a space when the hotel is fully booked. There is parking on the road but ensure you get your parking charge refunded if you use this as its also chargeable (free after 6pm I believe but check the meter!)

Breakfast - in the current situation this is OK. It's grab and go bacon, sausage, and egg rolls which if not timed correctly can be cold and sometimes hard. Cereal served in plastic bowls with wooden cutlery. Croissants are also available but no toast etc. Again I appreciate that the buffet breakfast is not feasible at the moment but after 6 days we were craving something different in the morning

We felt very safe even though the hotel was fully booked, and to be honest we probably will still stay here in October when we come up again, but I might have a look around to see what else is available first .

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sarahwJ2370OI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Matthews, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2020

Dear sarahwJ2370OI,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay- it is always lovely to hear feedback from our returning guests. With the current situation and government guidelines our priority is to keep everyone safe and try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, I am pleased we seemed to get this right for you. It's great to hear you like our new reception areas, we do hope to get the opportunity in the near future to show you our final works when the addition of the IHG Staybridge Suites are finished next year. Kind Regards- Katy, Senior Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2020 via mobile

Freezing cold room. No social distancing. No glasses in the room.

DO NOT PAY FOR BREAKFAST! Lukewarm cheap bacon and/or cheap, fatty sausages in a rock hard stale roll. Absolutely vile.

I will not be returning. Horrible.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Foodislove_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Matthews, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2020

Dear Foodislove_12 - Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. While we appreciate the feedback, there are some things which we've had to do slightly differently at the moment following government guidance which seem to have impacted your stay. Our guest rooms all have individual heating and cooling and one of my team would happily have assisted you with this if you reported an issue to make sure that your room was set to a comfortable temperature for you. We don't provide glasses in the room, however we do supply these from the bar simply on request. Unlike some other brands, we don't actually charge for our Express Start Breakfast here - it is included for all of our guests. Although we've had to stop offering our much loved buffet at the moment, we do prepare hot filled baps with either freshly cooked bacon, cumberland sausage or scrambled eggs, along with baked croissants, yoghurts, cereal, juice and freshly brewed coffee. The safety of our guests and colleagues alike is of the utmost importance to us, which is why we have signage, screens and santising stations available throughout the hotel. Kind Regards - Karen Matthews, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2020

This hotel was very nicely located next to the water, and the walk to the downtown was very pleasant through some canals. Other than that, it was a standard Holiday Inn Express. Breakfast was good, the rooms were good, but there isn't much to improve upon the regular HIE experience. It was under renovation, so hopefully improvements were made since I stayed, but it was a nice and regular hotel with a great location.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Matthews, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2020

Dear Grey J - Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. As you could see, we are in the process of building another hotel on the site - so next summer we'll have Staybridge Suites here as a neighbour - so more choice of where to stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards - Karen Matthews, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2020 via mobile

Lovely friendly hotel. Staff great very cheery polite and informative. Karen the manager was there at breakfast welcoming you making you feel at home and safe during this time. Great location to get to City centre and Cardiff Bay Mermaid Quay 15mins walking in either direction. Quiet waterside area. Thank you for our enjoyable 3night stay.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Matthews, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2020

Dear Debbie T - Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay and for your very kind words! I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed it and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards - Karen Matthews, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews