We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently refurbished deluxe room with a window feature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff)
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 5 December 2017

I booked this hotel before I had read tripadvisor, what a big error, once I had read the reviews, was dreading the visit as we couldn't get our money refunded. We were on-route to Rock Stock festival in Porthcawl.

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and re-branding - will be called The Citrus Hotel once complete.

The hotel is located directly opposite the Motorpoint Arena, which if you like sound checks for the band playing that night, then that is okay. Also if you like the the noise and view of trains, then this is the hotel for you.

Parking is extremely limited and tight, on a first come , first served basis, and God help you if anyone parks in front of you. You pays your money, you take your chance at £8.00 per day. Good value if you don't get stuck in!

Check in was simple and quick, the 2 lifts that service the rooms were fast, clean, but had a broken off and removed standing rail.

Our allegedly recently refurbished deluxe room was on the 8th floor overlooking the railway line.
On opening the door the first thing that caught the eye was not the bright green wall but the window feature.
It amazed me how you could get a "fish tank without fish" in a converted office block. On closer inspection the double glazed unit had condensation running between the panes of glass and had about 12cm of stagnant water in it. Instead of fish it had orange and green algae to look at!! All the windows in the room had issues of some sort and they had a strange film on the outside. After a 420 mile drive we just wanted to rest and recover from the 9 hour drive. Keeping the curtains closed permanently took the eye away from it but you still knew what was behind them.

Room carpet had a few dubious large brown stains of unknown origin. They could have a least tried to clean them if this was a newly replaced carpet. Also had 2 small cigarette burns in carpet as well.

The room had a lovely large tv on the wall, this wasn't positioned for ease of lying in bed to watch tv, as there was only a chair at the desk and a very low chair next to a small table. If not aligned properly with the supporting feet would instantly tip you onto the floor, having experienced this. Recently installed metal sockets, they were a good quality and finish, but a few didn't not switch off and one double socket was only secured by one screw, leaving it at an angle exposing the live wires inside the casing, making on Health and Safety grounds dangerous.
Even stranger was cables coming out the walls to expose the isolating wires going to thew switches.
NB: When this was pointed out to a member of staff on checking out, they said "we know, it is a common problem there is a lot of rooms like that".
Lighting was missing at the desk if you were staying there on business and required to do some work.
The reason the sockets looked new, the paint-work around them looked damaged as there was plaster damage associated with installing new sockets and had not been touched up, exposing the previous room colour.

The bathroom looked reasonable with a rain shower (needed a good clean, on shower head), the bath panel also was in dire need of a good clean as it had brown grime along the length of it. Sink had a black mark on it and the tap had not been cleaned properly either, limescale. What took the biscuit was the fresh make up stained towels. I took them down to reception ad asked for fresh towels, was told they were laundered, but just marked. I think I know what fresh make up look like on a towel, and this had just been folded after use by the previous occupant.
Fresh towels were brought up to the room. Bathroom door has a piece of laminate stuck onto the old door, to make it look like a new door.

Next day on return to the room all housekeeping had done was empty the bin, make the bed and replace the towels. Surprise, surprise I had to go back down to reception as one of the bath towels had a large tear in it, the other make up stains. I asked was the complimentary water not replenished or the tea and coffee. The reply was it was, but the maid obviously couldn't be bothered.The black stain on the sink was still there and the toothpaste in the basin.

Breakfast is not worth the money, although they have an offer on at the moment. It consisted of cereals, fruit juice, apples, bananas, cheese and croissants. The hot selection was lukewarm sausages, bacon, beans, hash browns and scramble egg. It is a self service style. You would be better off crossing the road to St David's centre for breakfast.
Overall if the room was refurbished, it wasn't to a high standard, except the sockets and done on the cheap. Curtains weren't new and did not match the decor of the room.

Would not recommend this in its current state, it should be in the £40 - £50 bracket including breakfast, not the £85 per night we paid.

Room Tip: high floor facing arena
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Y D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Y D

Thank you for interesting and very detailed review about your recent stay at the Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff.

I am truly sorry to learn that you were dissatisfied with particular aspects of your stay. We do pride ourselves on the quality of our customer service and our Hotel and feel very disappointed indeed that you were left feeling underwhelmed.

Though it is of little consequence to you now I just wanted to make you aware that we know of the issue we have with some of the windows and are currently looking at ways to resolve them as part of our on going refurbishment plan.

As a valued guest your feedback is important to us and should you
wish to relay any further feedback that will assist us in improving our product and service you are more than welcome to contact the hotel directly and speak to one of the Duty Managers to discuss your experience further.


Kind regards,

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2017

The location for the Motorpoint arena is excellent you can watch the queue frrm your window so as not to stand in to cold unnecessarily
The shower was good and water was hot and the towels fluffy
The bed was big and comfy
The staff very polite and helpful
The rest needs a little work but this may all be rectified when the works have been completed

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misslillian123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for your review and your kind comments regarding my team.

All feedback is extremely important to me and I have noticed in you review that you marked us as 2/5 for both room and cleanliness but haven't specified what was wrong. In fact you have only mentioned positive things and in order to improve I would really appreciate some more feedback from you, particularly around the cleanliness score.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

3 friends stayed here to see an event at the motor point arena directly opposite. Hotel room was very basic but spotlessly clean. Beds were very uncomfortable and the room was freezing. Can’t really say much else as we were just a room no breakfast.
Staff were very friendly.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Shelley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Can it even be called such a basic hotel. So many things to be done with this hotel. For one night in a budget hotel we survived but the bath was dirty, paint was coming off the wall in the bathroom, the bathroom was clean, as you can see from the pictures that was the room on arrival with some things needing fixing. The radiator also didn’t work and the mattress and pillow were very hard. Wouldn’t stay here again, not a nice hotel at all.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Dom_C99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Dom

Thank you for your review and for bringing these issues to my attention. I am obviously very disappointed and truly very sorry that you had such a negative experience at the Big Sleep Cardiff; may I ask though did you report these issues to the reception team? Some of the issues could have been resolved quickly, the last thing we would ever want is for one of our guest to stay in a room that hasn't been cleaned properly and doesnt have any heating.

I would really love the opportunity to make this up to you so if you do need to stay in Cardiff again please feel free to contact the hotel directly so that I can make sure you get the best available rate and an upgrade to one of our refurbished deluxe rooms.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Don't bother with this hotel. It may say car park, but its literally 10 spaces, first come first serve basis and charges their own guests £8 a day on top of room rate. If like me you haven't driven this city before it can be nerve racking & confusing. So being told on arrival you have to go to another car park & pay £16 for 24hrs is not good. Breakfast good variety, but hash browns like cardboard you cannot cut and hard as rock croissants leaves less choice.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Wanderwander78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback, I was very disappointed to read about your experience with us.

Like you wrote in your review we do have a car park but it is only small, just 18 spaces, and it subject to availability which is stated on our website. Due to the limited space we are not able to take bookings for our car parking but we do try and priorities any guests with special requirements. Next door to the hotel there is multi storey NCP car park which charges £9 for 24 hours and next to that is an open air NCP which charges £16 for 24 hours. Like in most city centres, car parking in Cardiff is charged at a premium; many hotels of a similar ranking to us do not have car park at all. I appreciate that is of little consequence to you and completely understand that driving round a new city which you are not familiar can be very stressful; it also sounds like my team did not handle the situation very well on your arrival and for this I am sorry.

I am also sorry to read about your negative breakfast experience and again for this please accept my apologies. It is important that we learn from our mistakes and I have given your feedback to the kitchen team.

I do hope that you choose to book with us again and when you do please feel free to contact the hotel directly so that we have offer you the best available rate.

Thank you again for your feedback

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 km away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#25 of 74 in Cardiff
1,237 reviews
0.6 km away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
0.1 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.5 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff)

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: €39 - €304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff) 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Cardiff City Centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formerly Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David’s shopping arcade. The Citrus Hotel, Cardiff is within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. Recently refurbished, the hotel offers 83 bedrooms and is ideal for business travellers, leisure breaks and families with a choice of room types to suit your needs. This fabulous Cardiff City Centre Hotel is perfect for those looking for Budget accommodation with a difference – great value with a designer feel. All bedrooms have WIFI, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, Super King Beds, Smart TV, views of the city & complimentary Early Check-in at 2.00 PM when you book direct. Our hotel has a 24-hour reception and a Lobby Bar that provides light snacks and refreshments. Car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
Citrus Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff) Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing