We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff)
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 1 December 2017

The location for the Motorpoint arena is excellent you can watch the queue frrm your window so as not to stand in to cold unnecessarily
The shower was good and water was hot and the towels fluffy
The bed was big and comfy
The staff very polite and helpful
The rest needs a little work but this may all be rectified when the works have been completed

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misslillian123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for your review and your kind comments regarding my team.

All feedback is extremely important to me and I have noticed in you review that you marked us as 2/5 for both room and cleanliness but haven't specified what was wrong. In fact you have only mentioned positive things and in order to improve I would really appreciate some more feedback from you, particularly around the cleanliness score.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 1,574 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

3 friends stayed here to see an event at the motor point arena directly opposite. Hotel room was very basic but spotlessly clean. Beds were very uncomfortable and the room was freezing. Can’t really say much else as we were just a room no breakfast.
Staff were very friendly.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Shelley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Can it even be called such a basic hotel. So many things to be done with this hotel. For one night in a budget hotel we survived but the bath was dirty, paint was coming off the wall in the bathroom, the bathroom was clean, as you can see from the pictures that was the room on arrival with some things needing fixing. The radiator also didn’t work and the mattress and pillow were very hard. Wouldn’t stay here again, not a nice hotel at all.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Dom_C99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Dom

Thank you for your review and for bringing these issues to my attention. I am obviously very disappointed and truly very sorry that you had such a negative experience at the Big Sleep Cardiff; may I ask though did you report these issues to the reception team? Some of the issues could have been resolved quickly, the last thing we would ever want is for one of our guest to stay in a room that hasn't been cleaned properly and doesnt have any heating.

I would really love the opportunity to make this up to you so if you do need to stay in Cardiff again please feel free to contact the hotel directly so that I can make sure you get the best available rate and an upgrade to one of our refurbished deluxe rooms.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Don't bother with this hotel. It may say car park, but its literally 10 spaces, first come first serve basis and charges their own guests £8 a day on top of room rate. If like me you haven't driven this city before it can be nerve racking & confusing. So being told on arrival you have to go to another car park & pay £16 for 24hrs is not good. Breakfast good variety, but hash browns like cardboard you cannot cut and hard as rock croissants leaves less choice.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Wanderwander78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback, I was very disappointed to read about your experience with us.

Like you wrote in your review we do have a car park but it is only small, just 18 spaces, and it subject to availability which is stated on our website. Due to the limited space we are not able to take bookings for our car parking but we do try and priorities any guests with special requirements. Next door to the hotel there is multi storey NCP car park which charges £9 for 24 hours and next to that is an open air NCP which charges £16 for 24 hours. Like in most city centres, car parking in Cardiff is charged at a premium; many hotels of a similar ranking to us do not have car park at all. I appreciate that is of little consequence to you and completely understand that driving round a new city which you are not familiar can be very stressful; it also sounds like my team did not handle the situation very well on your arrival and for this I am sorry.

I am also sorry to read about your negative breakfast experience and again for this please accept my apologies. It is important that we learn from our mistakes and I have given your feedback to the kitchen team.

I do hope that you choose to book with us again and when you do please feel free to contact the hotel directly so that we have offer you the best available rate.

Thank you again for your feedback

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here when visiting our son wasn't expecting to much for all we paid for the two nights but was pleasantly surprised when we checked into our room. Yes it was basic but was spotlessey clean with a large comfortable bed. The hotel is going through an extensive renovations at the minute but we where not effected by this to munch at all. The hotel is also right beside the railway line but again this didn't affect to much as they had stopped by the time we where going to sleep. Overall this is a good budget hotel in a great location right in the city centre and will not hesitate to stay here again. A special mention to Jo in reception who was always very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear Gareth

Thank you so much for you kind review.

I just thought that i would let you know that the refurbishment to the ground floor is due to be finished by the end of January and will make a vast improvement to the hotel. Thank you for mentioning Jo, I will make sure she is rewarded for great work.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 km away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#25 of 74 in Cardiff
1,237 reviews
0.6 km away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
0.1 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.5 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff)

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: €40 - €304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff) 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Cardiff City Centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formerly Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David’s shopping arcade. The Citrus Hotel, Cardiff is within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. Recently refurbished, the hotel offers 83 bedrooms and is ideal for business travellers, leisure breaks and families with a choice of room types to suit your needs. This fabulous Cardiff City Centre Hotel is perfect for those looking for Budget accommodation with a difference – great value with a designer feel. All bedrooms have WIFI, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, Super King Beds, Smart TV, views of the city & complimentary Early Check-in at 2.00 PM when you book direct. Our hotel has a 24-hour reception and a Lobby Bar that provides light snacks and refreshments. Car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
Citrus Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff) Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing