We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely not recommend this to anyone.”
Review of Flat 5 Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flat 5 Cardiff
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We stayed at the Brook Street apartment - number 5.

The advert said that there would be parking included, this was further confirmed when we collected the keys from the owner who said that there would be parking until 10 am (from a different hotel), it turned out that actually there wasn't proper parking at all, it was permit only and there was also no permits available.

The whole place was horrendous. The front door had gaps around it but that was the least of this apartment's problems. This was realised pretty much as soon as we opened the door and the mouldy smell hit us

Two of the stairs were broken and so very dangerous (despite discovering this early on, we found this to be easily forgotten about and nearly fell through it numerous times).

The bathroom was ok at best, there was no lock on the door, the shower was being held up by a cable tie.

The bedroom doors didn't close because the bed was in the way, the bedding smelt a bit muggy/musty, the pillows were as flat as a piece of paper. Beds were like two singles pushed together, incredibly uncomfortable.

The living room was set out with 2 stained sofas and a few wooden style chairs set out around a coffee table. There were various canvases on the walls with cigarette burns, cigarette buts hanging out of them. Digs in the walls, stains on the walls.

Despite it saying there was wifi, there was no password provided or anything.

This was so basic beyond belief, would not recommend this to anyone, especially not for the price being asked for. Wish we had known how basic/bad this was as there were plenty of AirB&Bs for not much more in price.

The only plus side is that it was in a good location, but that is literally all that was good about this place. Oh, and the only other plus side is that we only stayed for one night, any longer and I would have paid out for somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel/apartment/flat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Fantastic location but that's about it. Freezing cold. Awful beds, supposed to be doubles but are Queen size. Very smelly. But worse thing no parking. All resident or 2 hour only. Good handing over of keys but when you book you assume you get accommodation in Cathedral road but then find you are sent down the road!!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Quicky1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Brook St apartments. Fantastic location for access to the city. Spacious enough for 4 and amenities for cooking etc not bad.

However it was just a bit tatty, in need of a really good clean and some basic maintenance. Doors that didn't shut, cracks and holes requiring filler, carpets coming away at the edges. Damaged paintwork. Beds not comfy (small doubles with springs very evident) and the thinnest pillows ever. Wind whistling through the front door frame. A distinct fusty niff in the air, a bit like that student flat smell! You didn't really want to walk around without anything on you're feet. Some of the crockery needed washing before use.... ceramic hob with 2 huge cracks in.

We had a fantastic weekend and it was 'OK', but it could be great with some attention. Paid just over £400 for 2 nights so I think the price tag warrants it. On the other hand, if you chose it for a party pad for the weekend you wouldn't be worrying too much about damage etc.

Other draw back was parking. Nightmare. Only 2 hour spaces during the day and they were limited. Everywhere else was residential. Ended up leaving the cars in a multi storey on the other side of Cardiff for 24 hours. It does say parking available on booking.com. Slightly stretching the truth.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Corelli69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

We drove took up 30 mins from Bristol when we arrived the owner was in car outside with keys and waiting for cash!! Went in and I nearly passes out on the smell of dirty chip fat and steal air!!! Had to by a air fresheners.
Nice big size house with 2 bedrooms upstairs and small bathroom with shower NO MIRROR!!!
Only one bed had a full length which 4 girls has to share!! And tiny mirror in second bedroom!!
Only 15 mins walk to town but we got a taxi!! a bouns was we had WiFi and full working kitchen!
Overall was OK sofa dirty with stains and the towel just fitted around me and two pillows would be better!!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank brizzlegirl199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Exceptional greeting by apartment owner. Lovely man! Gave us a free parking pass for our car and advised us the best direction to the city centre (around 15 minute walk). Clean and everything tidy. Lovely beds, nice living room. Lovely bathroom and clean shower. Will be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerHughes89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
3.3 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
2.6 km away
YHA Cardiff Central
YHA Cardiff Central
#1 of 49 in Cardiff
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,356 reviews
7.7 km away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 74 in Cardiff
599 reviews
1.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flat 5 Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flat 5 Cardiff

Address: 128 Kings Road, Cardiff CF11 9DG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range: €118 - €272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flat 5 Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A selection of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments, capable of sleeping between 1 and 8 adults. All fully furnished, 10/15 minute walk to the City Centre / Millennium Stadium, offering you privacy, comfort and convenience during your stay in the Welsh Capital. The apartments are all located west of the city centre. They are not all in the same location, however they are close and accessible. If you are looking for a group booking or multiple apartments, please call us and we will talk you through the best options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Flat 5 Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flat 5 Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing