We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent once again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was my 3rd or 4th stay here, and excellent as usual. Friendly checkin staff, complimentary drink at the bar, spacious and comfortable rooms. Excellent location and perfect service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Hello Neil, thank you so much for your recent review, I was absolutely delighted with your feedback and really pleased that we have consistently delivered a great service on all of your stays with us.

I look forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us.

Kind regards

Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    842
    300
    94
    55
See reviews for
245
932
114
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

The housekeeping at this modern hotel is excellent. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed (although i wasn't keen on the colour scheme). Free wi-fi with only your name and room number needed was appreciated. It is a shame that the windows cannot be opened, but the road outside was very noisy so perhaps that was as well - the aircon worked well, as did the heated towel rail. Breakfast looked impressive, with every combination imaginable on offer, although in terms of taste the full English was no more than OK. The price of the Italian restaurant we thought was extortionate and we had two excellent courses with drinks at the nearby Duke of Wellington for the price of one plate of pasta in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katemart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Hello, thank you so much for your recent review, I was really pleased with your comments regarding your room and the free WiFi. Thank you also for your feedback regarding our Super Buffet breakfast, we do indeed offer a huge choice of options.

I also appreciate your feedback regarding our Filini Italian restaurant, perhaps next time we can tempt you to dine with us.

Kind regards

Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARMARTHEN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I had my Hen Party in Cardiff and decided to stay here at the Radisson Blu, we booked four triple rooms. Because we were a large group I wanted to enusre everything would be correct when we arrived so confirmed by telephone all rooms the day before. After a long trip we checked into the hotel at 12.30pm - I didnt expect the rooms to be ready but knew we were able to leave our luggage with them safely until they were.
On arrival we were greated by an unfriendly face to which we were told that we had only booked single rooms with one person in each room! I, at this point started to panic as there were 12 of us and had all pre-paid!
The miserable woman then went on to say that all ''spare beds'' had been taken and there was ''nothing she could do''. I then decided to show her an email which I received confirming payment of four triple rooms. She then went on to say that the extra beds are not garantee and that it was ony by request. I asked to speak to managment which she then went on to the phone and came back with ''the rooms are ready now with all extra beds in place'' it went from no extra beds at all to all four rooms already having them in place. with no apolagy checked us in at that was that. I then went on to have a fabulous hen party and arrived back at the hotel 3am. At 3.15am we had a call from reception regarding a compliant of TV noise, i explained we did not have our TV on and that it must be coming from another room. (no apolagy) settled down into bed when at 4am the fire alarm went off - the whole hotel being evacuated, having to walk down 10 flights of stairs (there were 3 members of my party over the age of 60) and then standing outside the hotel in our pajammas, freezing for 90 minutes!!! Then after eventually being allowed into the hotel (no apolgy from staff) then had to walk up 10 flights of stairs as the we ere still unable to take lift!
On check out there were still no apolagy from staff regarding the fire alarm!
I wouldnt stay at this hotel agin, the attitude on the staff was appauling!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GEMMA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egham, surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed for 1 night with Husband, had room on 17th floor... this was good for view but not always handy when waiting for lift !!
room really nice, bed really comfortable, bathroom really good size ( i hate pokey hotel bathrooms!)
The location is good for everything , shops , restaurants , bars , Motorpoint arena, Millenium stadium. Also drove to Cardiff bay in five minutes which was nice for a walk around.
We were lucky and managed to park in hotel but plenty of other parking around and also not too far for railway station.
Breakfast was great as there was lots of choice.
No spa in hotel but would recommend a salon called Kamigata , five minutes walk away in shopping centre,
A thoroughly enjoyable stay, would recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claret76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLZH, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Hello, thank you for such a wonderful review, I was delighted to read your comments about our location and the Super Buffer breakfast which is always very popular with our guests. I'm glad that you enjoyed our spacious bathrooms too and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind regards

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A very pleasant stay. Car parking avaiable at £15 for 24hrs (limited, but we got lucky) Very helpful reception staff, we were able to check in at 11:30am, and leave the car until 3pm the next day. All staff very plesant indeed. Fire alarm evacuated us at 03:45am , but we were back on the 15th floor by 04:15am. very good location for central Cardiff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne9966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWLZH, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Hi Jayne, thanks for your wonderful review, I was delighted that you felt we were worth a 5/5 rating. I'm glad that the fire alarm did not disrupt your stay too much. I was really pleased to read your comments about our location and the friendliness of the reception team.

I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind regards

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.2 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.9 km away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Address: Meridian Gate Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing