We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
314
70
13
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
70
13
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welsh theme rainfall shower the marco pierre white restaurant top floor rooftop bar high bed quirky hotel welsh touches amazing shower great hotel comfortable lounge area loved this hotel queen street greyfriars road full welsh breakfast the main shopping street continental options
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Typical Hotel Indigo, great staff, wonderful rooms and the food is amazing. The rooms are all individually styled so no two are the same, which makes it that bit more special. If you get the chance try it out!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank gtillier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Shwmae!

Thank you for a lovely review we really appreicate you taking the time writing about our lovely Hotel!


We hope ou will visit us again soon!


Kind regards,
Reception Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Really friendly hotel, excellent room, showers, bedding with quirky decor. Breakfast was just amazing. Pancakes and bacon made fresh. Staff in restaurant were lovely and second morning remembered us. The only downside is the high street out side had some pretty unsavoury sorts about but police were moving them on with kindness. Nearby restaurants are very good. My new favourite in Cardiff.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank CatlondonUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Bore da!!

Many thanks for your kind review!

We will make sure all feedback is given to the correct departments thank you for taking the time to write such kind feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Reception Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel is different from any other we’ve stayed in and from the first impression to the last, it’s virtually impossible to find fault with the place.
The staff are all helpful and friendly, but never stuffy or patronising. Professionalism presented in a totally natural way, leaving you with the impression that nothing was too much trouble. One receptionist even offered us his umbrella on a rainy Cardiff morning.
The theme of the hotel is boutique style -chintzy decor, with an unmistakably Welsh theme. You are left in no doubt that you are in the capital city of Wales. The rooms were comfortable and clean. In fact everything still looks brand new, despite the fact that the hotel has been open for 9 months. Great touches were the Myddfai toiletries and Welsh chocolates left with the tea and coffee, together with the Bore Da (Good Morning) on the cushion. We visited during Eisteddfod week and were impressed to see a reminder on the room key card to visit this festival in the Bay. We stayed specifically to do that, but it was great to see that they were recommending this great event to all the guests.
Breakfast is served on the 6th floor, which has a rooftop terrace offering panoramic views of the city, from the Castle to the Bay. This is also a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, although we never had time to eat there.

Book well ahead on an advanced rate and it’s not prohibitively expensive to stay here. We loved it so much, we decided to stay for an extra night, which says it all! I’m already looking forward to my next visit and this is a brand I shall certainly search for in other locations if they are as good as the Cardiff one.



Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Bore da Caroline!!!

Wow ... what a lovely review!!

We cant thank you enough for taking the time to write about our lovely Hotel.

So happy you loved all the little touches within the room and around the building also, we love to hear all feedback and will let the restaurant know of how much you enjoyed the breakfast.

We hope you will visit us again soon, we will be more than happy to assist in anyway we can.

All the best & kind regards,
Reception Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Visited this hotel for 3 nights whilst visiting Cardiff. Overall we were really impressed with this hotel.

The service at this hotel was amazing and we couldn't fault it. Check in was simple and easy. We also rang up reception during our stay to check if we were still able to have our room serviced (after having a bit of a lie in). We were told that house keeping could still visit our room and we could tell them what time we were due back to the hotel so that the room could be serviced before we returned. Finally during check out we were advised by the staff of a great place to go for breakfast. The knowledge of the local area and eateries by the hotel staff was amazing.

The hotel rooms are really quirky but we loved the unique decor. The bathroom was very luxurious and the shower was exceptional.

Only very minor criticisms are the lighting in the rooms was a little dark especially over the desk (for when trying to do makeup). The bar of hand soap wasn't the best and was almost too hard. I also think that a whole bar of soap for a minimum 1 night stay is very wasteful so personal preference would always to have a soap dispenser. The final thing was one of the flannels was used which was taken away but was never replaced. I have seen other comments about having no outlook - this was the same for us and we were almost looking into the hallway of the rest of our floor although this didn't bother us and we were out and about almost all day. We also had no problems with noise even on a Friday and Saturday night when the city was very busy with people.

We visit Cardiff every year or so to visit uni friends and so far this is definitely our favourite hotel and we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpwood94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Shwmae!!!

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review! Glad you enjoyed your experience and soaked in the surrounding areas.

We appreciatee all feedback from our guests to help improve our abilities further.

We do hope you will re-visit us again in the near future.

All the best,

Reception Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Loved this hotel from the moment I stepped inside. Reception staff were friendly , helpful and efficient, also fell in love with the Welsh themed decor throughout reception area.
Our room was superb,loved all the little extra touches, again all Welsh themed. The bed was actually the most comfortable hotel bed I’ve ever slept in and the shower was simply awesome.
We didn’t eat in Marco Pierre Whites restaurant in the evening but did pop in for drinks, again loved the decor and the lighting and ambience were lovely , also liked the balcony and views of Cardiff.
Breakfast was served in Marcos and the buffet selection was excellent. Obviously it was Sunday morning and I think we hit the busiest time as the staff seemed to be under a little pressure though all were friendly and helpful . The cooked breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, hard bacon, undercooked eggs, no potato rosti, lukewarm sausage and stewed beans, I’ve had better in cheap cafes.
Overall a superb stay and would recommend to others as 9 out of 10.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Bore da Sue!

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such great words about our Hotel.

Glad you loved all the welsh touches and we hope you will re-visit us again in the future to try one of our other themed room.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the experience with breakfast, we will forward all of this information onto the breakfast/kitchen team to make sure this doesn't happen again.

Warmest regards and all the best,

Reception Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews