We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$111
View deal
Agoda.comUS$111
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Snaptravel
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (872)
Filter reviews
872 results
Traveller rating
538
137
109
48
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
538
137
109
48
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath main hall iconic building luxury double room original features beautiful hotel afternoon tea building work function room birthday treat millennium centre large room mermaid quay a lovely stay following morning buffet style two night stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 872 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2020 via mobile

We had our wedding here during the pandemic and Brian and all the staff did everything in their power to ensure that we had the best wedding day we could have during these times.

We could not fault a single thing throughout the day.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank T1366LCjamesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Dear T1366LCjamesw,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely feedback. I am delighted to hear that enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Coal Exchange in the near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2020 via mobile

We turn up every thing was lovely really lovely welcome,covid safe we got to our room and I had ordered beers to the room as is was my husband birthday we only got 4 should have been 5 but not to worry
My husband filled up the lovely jacuzzi got in and put the jets on its spat out black mold alot of it, I understand these thing happen but it should be checked.
The pillows didnt have pillow protectors on them and they were cheap and lumpy.
We did mention the jacuzzi when we left as it was the thing that really bothered us to be told it was cleaning product left in the jet.......it was definitely mold, I have taken pictures up it doesn't really show how bad it was.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank laurat521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Dear laurat521,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Your feedback has left me feeling concerned about your experiences with us.

Please contact our Guest Relation Manager, paul.knight@coalexchangecardiff.co.uk

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2020 via mobile

Me and my husband decided to try this hotel after seeing a post about it being back open! We usually stay in the marriot or st David's when staying in Cardiff so we was understandably a bit dubious about staying elsewhere but wow!!! The hotel is absolutely beautiful!! Upon arrival we was temperature checked, we then made our way to culleys where we enjoyed the gin afternoon tea, the food and drinks were amazing and the service was second to none. We then made our way to our room and was blown away, the room was beautiful, the bath was amazing and spotlessly clean! Would definitely recommend anyone stay here, the staff was beyond helpful, the food and drinks was 1st class and to top it off the hotel is breathtakingly beautifully grand

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank amylou2316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Dear amylou2316,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely feedback. I am delighted to hear that enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Coal Exchange in the near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2020

Just returned from two nights at the Coal Exchange. Normally we stay in the city centre but this time wanted a more relaxing weekend. We had two packages, 'Friday Fizz' & 'Brunch Saturday' and extra 15% off due to the reopening deal.
Our room was 206 which was in the eaves of the hotel, lovely and warm, nice carpet and had an extra seating area with tv. Due to the hotels location there are no 'views' out of the windows but it didn't matter.
We encountered small problems (tv not working, and the whirlpool bath had a build up of soap scum when the jets were on) but all sorted very promptly and didn't take away from our enjoyment. We had a bottle of 'Fizz' in our room on the Friday and enjoyed a 2 course meal on the Sat afternoon with 90 minutes endless fizz - a fantastic deal and very good value for money. We never had an empty glass of fizz, it was constandly topped up! We both opted for the burger for the brunch and it was delicious.
The breakfasts were plentiful, due to covid there wasn't a buffet but you were given a sheet with a selection of items and circled what you wanted. Very good choice and very tasty!
There was a young lad called Ethan in the restaraunt who was at every sitting we had, he couldn't do more for us. Extremely pleasant and just what a guest needs is a helpful and friendly staff member. No doubt he will be going onto bigger and better positions in the future. He should be commended for his guest services!
To be critical, A full length mirror would have been nice and perhaps a table and side lamp in the seating area of our room. It was a little dark but that is the character of the hotel (i've stayed in darker!). We had a double bed (used to a SK at home) so was quite snug, there would be plenty of room for a king or larger in our particular room. I understand that bath robes & slippers are not provided due to covid but that would be a really nice touch. Also there was no luggage rack in the room which I generally use when staying in hotels.
The bathroom was very spacious and light, with the rain shower over the bath, a shower curtain or screen would be advantagous as there was no barrier to stop the water splashing onto the bathroom floor when showering.
We opted for a housekeeping service and our bed was remade & fresh towells along with a general clean.
We were able to park outside to unload/load our bags without any problem and took the car to a local car park for the weekend, only a 5 minute walk away.
It has the potential to be a really exclusive hotel in the future once all the building works have been completed as it looks as if only 1/2 the hotel is occupied at present.
We will definitely return in the future!

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n1colastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Dear n1colastar,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely feedback. I am delighted to hear that enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Coal Exchange in the near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2020 via mobile

Stayed at this beautiful hotel last night. Staff were fantastic throughout our stay, very friendly and helpful....nothing was to much trouble or a bother. Our room was beautiful, we had a double jacuzzi bath with rainfall shower overhead which was absolutely amazing. Decor is stunning! Absolutely love all the furnishings. One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in.
All Covid restrictions in place so no need to worry. Breakfast was delicious......cannot wait to return again which will be very soon!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ruthpX3431ZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Dear ruthpX3431ZV,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely feedback. I am delighted to hear that enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Coal Exchange in the near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews