We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well designed, Fairly New Hotel That Deserves Attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well designed, Fairly New Hotel That Deserves Attention”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Like staying a in a cool, well designed, reasonably priced hotel near the train station?

I recommend the Sleeperz Hotel. The rooms aren't large but they are well designed with such things as a coin holder. The windows are sound proof so it wasn't a problem staying near the train station.

I loved having breakfast in the restaurant. A bit pricey but delicious. Lots of breads, pastries and eggs, etc.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. They even passed out mince pies during my visit in early January 2012.

The hotel is close to the Cardiff Castle, downtown, shops, restaurants. You can't go wrong staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. It never hurst to ask. I got one but maybe it was because I checked in on 1/1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertKavalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    328
    149
    45
    37
See reviews for
64
315
109
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dyserth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

What a great location this hotel has. Literally 2 mins from cardiff central train station. Also near to the restaurants, bars and designer shops. University buildings handy too. We had 2 rooms booked with an on line booking site. Unfortunately reception we not expecting us due to "lack of fax". It was sorted quite quickly.
The double rooms are spotlessly clean and modern in design. Very distant sound of trains but a comfy bed and shower room. Breakfast was very good, fresh and good choive. £6.95 per head if booked before midnight. Reception staff happy to look after luggage until we left in the evening. Perfect hotel for a short stay. Excellent.

Room Tip: front of hotel is further away from railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sianiemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
209 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights, this hotel is so convenient for anyone who has travelled to Cardiff by both bus and train, in fact, its only about 100 yards from Cardiff Central station (the main station in the city).
It is also very convenient for the shops and local entertainment, John Lewis' flagship store and one end of the St Davids shopping centre are visible from the front of the hotel and are only a few minutes walk away too, also , other local attractions including nightlife and restaurants catering for a variety of tastes and budgets, are close by.
The staff were very welcoming and friendly too and the room was spotless, also no noise was to be heard from the trains which pass by adjacent to the hotel. Would definitely stay again when visiting Cardiff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed for 3 nights here and first impressions on the phone and reception were of a warm and friendly welcome. Modern hotel, bright and spotlessly clean and just a couple of minutes from Cardiff central station and main shopping areas. I agree with other reviewers about the rooms - fine for one person, but would be tight for 2. Shower still not draining away and flooding around toilet. Also one bedside lamp and plug in sink not working. Breakfast was fantastic in a bright modern restaurant. Evening meal also very good and promptly served. All in all, good value for money, very friendly and welcoming - which means a lot. I enjoyed my stay and would go back for a couple of nights in future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne552046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Lets start with the good stuff. We travelled to Cardiff by train and this hotel could not be more conveniently placed for those arriving by train. As you leave the railway station and look to you right you will see the hotel just a few steps away. Staff at reception (and elsewhere) were friendly and helpful. We asked if we could leave our bags cos we arrived around 11 a.m. (check in is usually 2 p.m.) and we were very grateful to staff for actually letting us check in to our room at this early hour.
The room was small but for the most part functional. The bed was comfortable. Rooms are ideal for one person but were a bit spartan for a couple. For example, the only place to sit, other than the bed was a small pouffe. A chair would have been welcome, but there would not have been room for one. The room had air conditioning which was welcome but even more welcome would have been an opening window. We both like a little fresh air in the bedroom and found the room a bit stuffy.
I agree with other reviewers about the bathroom flaws. I have nothing against walk in showers but the water did not drain away very fast so the water went everywhere and the floor remained wet a long time. The door to the bathroom is glass and depending how close someone stands to it, it is see through. Not always a pretty sight!
Breakfast was enjoyable. All items good quality and the price reasonable although if you have a mind to save a few pennies a breakfast can be had in the Wetherspoons pub over the road for a few pounds less.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troggy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 73 in Cardiff
1,187 reviews
0.1 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,049 reviews
0.3 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff

Property: Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Address: Saunders Road | Saunders Road, Cardiff CF10 1RH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern lifestyle hotel built with great design in mind. Centrally located in the heart of Cardiff next to the main rail station. Wooden floors, tiled wet rooms and tactile leather finishes make Sleeperz Hotels appeal to both leisure and business travellers. A restaurant/breakfast area overlooks the central square; our lounge bar area has a wood burning fire and beautiful leather sofas. Rates include FREE WiFi and national UK calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Sleeperz Hotel
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing